Mother, Interrupted

Malia pictureWell it’s been awhile since I had to opportunity to actually sit down and write anything. I had wanted to post actual thoughts on JBelle’s birthday but I was weary, overwhelmed and brain-dead when I got to the computer later that day (Sat 5/26) so I went the lazy route and just posted those pictures. I’ve had so much on my mind the past several days, I’m not sure I even know where to begin!

I’m sort of missing my old blog. I really did want to change direction with my posting, be more focused on topics and less random than I was at the old place. But I do miss, from time to time, putting up posts of just random thoughts, musings and ramblings. I could still do that here, but I already feel like I dominate this co-authored blog. And I knew that David would not post as much as I am prone to do, however I still sometimes feel that when I’ve posted several times in a row, without a post from him, that I’m “talking” too much.

But right now I feel I’m in need of some heavy duty encouragement. Y’all…parenting sucks sometimes. Tonight I’m feeling like the biggest failure in parenting ever to walk the earth. Nothing earth shattering has happened, it’s just been another day of endless frustrations, whining, disobedience and disrespect…and that was just from the dog! (Well at least I still have my sense of humor.) The silver lining is that, thankfully, I’m not alone. I’m so glad that I have David, that we have each other, to lean on and provide support, back-up, reality checks and constructive criticism (which sucks but it’s crucial).

Children are natural mimics; they act like their parents in spite of every effort to teach them good manners. –Author Unknown

So here I sit, children nestled all snug in their beds, a cold glass of my adult beverage of choice by my side, it’s quiet and I can actually think, no distractions, no one needing me for anything and I can’t even figure out what I want to write about. I just know that when I tuck my children into bed at night and I watch JBelle as she prays and I look into The GMan’s eyes while I sing to him, that somehow, someway, it’s worth all the heartache.

8 Comments

Filed under by Malia, parenting

8 responses to “Mother, Interrupted

  1. michelle

    There was an old country song that had the line “some days are diamonds, some days are stone! There will be rough days (sometimes many in a row) but it will get better. It doesn’t seem like it when it is happening but these days go by quickly. Hang in there and know that you are doing the best for your children.
    Hugs!

  2. It’s the rough days that make the great days all that much sweeter.

    Kind of like the fact that I had been a fan of the hapless Atlanta Braves since the early 70’s, so the World Series victory meant much more to me in ’95 than it would to, say, a Yankees fan. But, I digress.

    One day, you are going to be just out of sight as JBelle encounters a situation where she has a moral choice to make. She’ll make the right one, on her own. And she won’t understand why you arrive a minute later, blubbering like a baby.

    Just wait and see.

  3. You have good, smart kids who are going to make a difference in the world.

    The process of shaping them may frustrate you on occasion, but you’re doing a great job.

  4. “Mama said there’d be days like this. There’d be days like this my mama said…..”

    Remember you are raising future chrisitan adults. The fight is a good fight.

    and the unknown author of that quote might as well have been God because sista it is the hard core truth!

    When I don’t like how Chelsea is behaving all I have to do is look in the mirror and I see where she got it from! Not always a pretty picture.

  5. Pingback: Nashville is Talking » Deep Dish

  6. Sheryl

    Kids will be kids… and eventhough they’ll drive you in sane one day, they are the most precious things God has given us, aside from his Son. You are a great mom and I KNOW that they both will grow up to be well-mannered, respectful adults who LOVE their mom!!
    As for the blog thing, you have a lot to say, and genetically, woman have much more to say then men do. I love your posts! Your random thoughts are shared by women/moms everywhere!
    Love & Miss ya!!

  7. Parenting is not for sissies. I wish I could tell you that “when they’re older, it gets easier”, but, I’m finding it to be the total opposite. I feel totally unqualified to parent teenagers and find myself getting more and more frustrated everyday, missing the days when my teens would hug me and actually liked me. Someday, they’ll like me again. At least I still have one littler one who thinks I’m swell.

  8. We all have days like this. Hopefully the good days outnumber the bad though. :)

Leave a Reply

