Home Alone

Malia pictureI’m playing hooky from church this morning. Friday, at the pool, I got a really bad sunburn and I am unable to wear a vital piece of underclothing…know what I mean? Yeah, it’s that bad! I’m well versed in the benefits of and need for sunscreen, believe me. I just made a stupid decision on Friday morning since I was late in arriving for the water aerobics class (outdoors) that I wanted to participate in. Apparently, by the time I got around to applying sunscreen, the damage had already been done.

So hear I sit, all by myself (but not all broken hearted). I honestly can’t remember the last time I was at home all alone. Several weeks ago, David and I had the kids spend the night with their grandparents and we were home alone. But just me (and the dog – who I let out)? I’m not sure what to do with myself! I’m hoping to get some “stuff” done, get laundry started, dishwasher emptied, table cleared off, etc. But for now it’s nice to sit in a quiet house, finish my coffee and read and write without interruption!

What do you do when you get “alone” time?

10 Comments

Filed under by Malia, life as a domestic goddess

10 responses to “Home Alone

  1. Oh gosh…I have to admit I LOVE being alone. I telecommute from home now on Mon/Wed afternoons and all day Fridays. The only bad thing is I have to be online and available for work so I’m not really “alone.” ;)

    But if I have free time I usually get caught up on laundry and housework and blogging. Yea.

    Hope your sunburn gets better soon! I got sunburned on my back really badly last Sunday afternoon at the pool.

  2. Tiffany

    Me, too! Although I’m not sunburned. I’ve got strep throat, if you can believe it. So I’ve had WAY too much alone time the last two days! I finished one book already, caught up on TV shows, and watched a couple of movies. Today I’m going to tackle the pile of clean clothes sitting in my bedroom. That’s as ambitious as I feel. Hope you feel better soon!

  3. Alone time? What’s that?

    On the rare occasions where I have time to myself, I like to take a walk to the Percy Priest Dam and back. With two kids at the ages of 2 and 3, quiet time to myself is much appreciated.

    Have fun with your day.

    Mike

  4. Malia

    My day? Oh Mike, you slay me! Try my morning! Three hours tops! The “fam” has been home for over an hour now. I did get a few things done though and listened to Sheryl Crow with the volume up too loud :)

    Tiff – ooooh, strep throat – ouch!! Feel better soon!

    Jamie – yeah, I cleaned the kitchen, started some laundry and started clearing off my desk (after blogging!)

  5. The rare times everyone is away from my house but me….I soak in the silence. Or sing at the top of my lungs.

  6. I’m with Mike… what’s “alone time”? With my new work and commute, I’ve yet to find any. :)

  7. Sheryl

    I hope in all that ‘alone’ time that you got to rest and relax. It’s not often that you can take time for just yourself. Although the sunburn does prevent a problem, you can still relax in a quiet environment, read a good book, put on great music (Sheryl Crow is a fav. I love her name! LOL) or have some great worship time with just you & God! Happy Sunday!

  8. alone? alone? what is that? i vaguely remember what that means. :) You would think with 2 teens, I would have alone time….but nooooo we had to be the kind of parents that encourage our kids to do things with us and have their friends at our house!!! What was I thinkin’?

  9. Malia

    Ellyn I think you & Jay are right on track with keeping your kids close and their friends close, too. That’s exactly what I want. I know, I know – be careful what you wish for! But I really think that given the choice, I’d prefer my kids to hang-out at home with us AND their friends than to hang out at friends’ houses where parents may or may not be present.

  10. I love alone time. I’ve never had too much of that. But when I do get that rare alone moment, I like to scrapbook or read. :)

Leave a Reply

