Mommy’s World

Malia pictureIf you hang around our family long enough you’ll eventually hear one of our “made-up” tunes. Mostly they are melodies we know with our own lyrics replacing the originals. A favorite with the kids is a personalized version of the Elmo’s World theme song. Well today, JBelle got in on the fun and started making up lyrics for the E’sW song for me:

La-la La-la, La-la La-la
Mommy’s world
La-la La-la, La-la La-la
Mommy’s world
Mommy likes Daddy, her coffee too.
That’s Mommy’s world!!

(Then she added a second verse.)

La-la La-la, La-la La-la
Mommy’s world
La-la La-la, La-la La-la
Mommy’s world
Mommy likes coffee, her blog too.
That’s Mommy’s world!!

(Scary how perceptive children can be, huh?)

Personally, had I been making up the lyrics it would have gone something like this:

La-la La-la, La-la La-la
Mommy’s world
La-la La-la, La-la La-la
Mommy’s world
Mommy loves Daddy, her sweet children too.
That’s Mommy’s world!!

La-la La-la, La-la La-la
Mommy’s world
La-la La-la, La-la La-la
Mommy’s world
Mommy cooks supper & cleans it up, too.
That’s Mommy’s world!!

La-la La-la, La-la La-la
Mommy’s world
La-la La-la, La-la La-la
Mommy’s world
Mommy does laundry, & folds it, too.
That’s Mommy’s world!!

La-la La-la, La-la La-la
Mommy’s world
La-la La-la, La-la La-la
Mommy’s world
Mommy loves Daddy, her sweet children too.
That’s Mommy’s world!!

(One more time)

THAAAAAT’S MOM-MY’S WOOORRRLLLDDD!!!!

9 Comments

Filed under by Malia, JBelle, kids & family, life as a domestic goddess

9 responses to “Mommy’s World

  1. That made me smile :)

  2. Sheryl

    How cute is that!! She’s got a promising song writing career if she keeps going. :-)

  3. When I was a little girl, I was asked “What do Mommy’s do?” and I answered, “they sit around at the computer typing all day.” Of course my mom did laundry, cooked dinner, and loved us. But I only saw the typing. hahaha. The teacher went straightway and told my mom what I’d said–I think she was really concerned (weird, right?) and it’s been a family joke ever since.

  4. Pingback: Nashville is Talking » Sing, sing a song

  5. michelle

    So do you like COFFEE? Cute, such precious memories you will have (and blackmail material for when she is older)

  6. I LOVE it! ;)

    I think my world is very similar, even though I’m a working mom. Laundry, the bane of my existence!

    And I am happy to know that other families make up their own little ditties. ;)

  7. Elmo definitely has good songs.

  8. Awesome! We make up songs too… sometimes they rhyme… sometimes they are to tunes we already know… sometimes it’s just a random account of what we are doing… we probably wouldn’t do much of this if others were around. lol

    LOVED this post. :)

  9. We were at Target last week and Josh was alone with Keira in the housewares aisle. They saw a coffee carafe, and she said, “Mom,” followed a moment later by, “Coffee.”

Leave a Reply

