When I Grow Up

Malia pictureAbout the only thing I really aspired to be when I grew up was a wife and mother. Now that I’m there, it’s not that I don’t love these roles or regret them, I’ve just finally realized that I want a little bit more out of life. I went to college and somewhere along the way decided that marriage counseling would be right up my ally. And while that dream is still quite firmly lodged in my head, there are some other professions I would so love to take a stab at. If only I had enough lifetimes to get to them!

Clothing Designer: The real reason I don’t enjoy clothes shopping is that I know I will not find what I’m looking for in the shoppes I frequent. I have the ideal outfit in my head but no one out there makes it. Alas, I have no mad sewing skillz and no mad art skillz (meaning I can’t draw on a piece of paper what’s in my head). I think what I need is a creative partner.

Chef: I love trying new recipes and there’s a part of me that would really like to create and serve faboo and kid friendly recipes to my family (and then to the world!) The thing is I freeze up in the kitchen. I’m so fearful of messing up and wasting good food and ingredients that I tend to stick with the basics and the handful of recipes I’m good at. I’ve daydreamed of spending the entire day in the kitchen coming up with the perfect dessert recipe, trying dozens of times until I get it just right. There’s just two things missing that make that daydream fizzle, no unlimited supply of ingredients and no magic wand to clean up the mess that will be made! 

Gardener: Here is where the daydreams really get fantastical. The reason is I so love the idea of gardening but I’m utterly useless in the garden. I fancy myself able to create a beautiful herb and flower garden and that I would wake in the early morning hours and tend to it, lovingly weeding it, watering it, fertilizing it. I imagine myself trolling nurseries looking for the perfect plants and seeds. I see myself picking fresh herbs for my latest culinary delight. My table displays a vase of roses and lilies from own backyard. And then… I wake up. But oh, to be a gardener!

Chiropractor: I toyed with this one several years ago but what ulitmately made me decide not to pursue it was the lack of schooling options in the area. I think the closest one is in Atlanta, though that may have changed over the years. I used to go to a chiropractor on a regular basis. I heart chiropractors! I haven’t been in years but lately I’ve really wanted/needed to get back in the habit of going. Which also resurrected my former daydream of becoming one and working out of my home.

See what I mean? I’m a mess! What path should I take? Which siren song should I follow? Well, for now it’s motherhood. Because it’s 9:45 am and the kids are not dressed yet (in clothes from Target or consignment finds not handsmocked creations), haven’t eaten breakfast (it’ll be Eggo waffles or cereal, not omelets), the dog has dug up the garden and my aching back will just have to do with Aleve for yet another day!

What’s your daydream profession? What do you want to be when you grow up?

12 Comments

Filed under by Malia, life as a domestic goddess

12 responses to “When I Grow Up

  1. I dream of writing children’s books.

  2. testing…….sorry for the double comment

  3. You don’t wanna be a chef. It’s not as fun as it sounds. Trust me on that one, lol.

  4. I have no idea…I am a jack of all trades and a master of none. Sometimes I am envious of the women who made motherhood their career or made some other career their priority and are successful at it because I would LOVE to be successful at ONE thing!

    Then I realized that Ecc.3 is very appropo(sp?). Your life will have seasons and in those seasons, you will be all those things that you want! So one day, you will be a great chef, even if it is just to David. One day when your kids are grown and doing their own thing, you will have time to spend in a garden and working the soil. One day Julia will get married and you will help her find the most beautiful dress for her and dresses for bridesmaids. Now the chiropractic thing…hmm…..sometiems you just gotta pay someone! :)

  5. You are a poet at heart. Even if it is just for yourself, you need to write more. Then, when we are dead and gone, our children can publish them and make all the money and you will be famous.

  6. Sheryl Root

    It’s never too late to pursue a new dream. You are only limited by your own imagination. You could be any one of those things you wish to become, and I also agree with DB, that you are a poet and writer. You have some many insights that you could share with others. It’s not easy to write, I’ve tried. You have a knack for it, my friend!! Maybe you can write my story, since I haven’t been able to. :-)

    There’s so many things I would like to do… but I finally figured out what I wanted to be when I grew up, and now I’m finishing up my degree in graphic design. I graduate in March!! :-) Online education is awesome!!
    I’m not ruling out the other areas such as concert promotion/event planning but I know whatever I do, it will be my ministry to God and He will direct my path the way HE wants me to go.
    I know whatever you do, even if its staying a wife and mom, God will and has blessed you enormously!!

  7. Elizabeth

    Glad to know we aren’t the only ones still in pj’s at 9:45 am!

  8. Good post! :) Can I scrapbook for a living? I’d like that. Or a photographer. I’d love to write some books. What about a professional nap taker??? Yes, that’s what I want to be. A professional nap taker! :)

  9. When I “retire”, I want to be a part-time Foley Artist.

    Only problem is, by that time, they probably won’t need them anymore, every sound ever made would have been digitally sampled.

    But it’s still something I’ve always dramed of doing. Oh, and being a Mythbuster.

  10. Bob

    I want to retire and be a tour guide where I can wear my hair long and in a pony tail. Perhaps a historical site of some kind. I saw some good places in Philly. Maybe I’ll find one here in Florida.

  11. Sheryl

    Just thought of another thing I want to do when I grow up…. I want to work at Disneyland (or Disneyworld) so I won’t ever have to grow up! :-)

    But according to DB’s recent post, we already live in Disneyland. :-)

  12. Hmmmm….eventually I’d love to run a bed and breakfast with my husband. He’s the chef and the bartender in our house. I guess I’m the anal retentive neat freak, frustrated interior designer.

    I’d also love to write a book, but what kind I do not know…children’s maybe? I’d love to work for Southern Living.

    Yep, that’s about it!

    And your motherhood techniques sound remarkably like mine! ;)

Leave a Reply

