Dear MNPS School Board, Please Make Up Your Minds!!

Update at the end of post.
Malia pictureLate last week I was perusing our family calendar to familiarize myself with what was coming up this week. I saw that school pictures for JBelle were on the calendar and I sighed to myself thinking, “Hmmm…should she wear the red or pink polo shirt to school that day?” Because, as you remember, Metro Davidson Country Schools now enforce a Standard School Attire dress code. Nothing says personality like every kid’s school picture looking exactly like that of the student sitting next to them!

But wait! Lo and behold the phone rang that same evening with a nice recorded message from the school’s principal. Ms. Principal* was calling to remind everyone about fundraisers, upcoming events, etc. On the list of reminders was school pictures and a notice that for one day only students do not have to wear SSA approved clothing. However, no jeans and no cargo pants would be allowed! So basically, JBelle can wear a dress or a non-collared, even patterned(!) shirt to school on picture day.

OK, I’m thrilled that JBelle can pick-out the outfit of her choice (albeit mother approved outfit) for her school pictures. But, if you’re going to implement a dress-code standard, why change it up for picture day? What? Don’t you want proof of the asinine decision to make every kid look exactly the same and the budget breaking strains placed on lower income families? You’d think the school board would want to flaunt their ground-breaking decision with school pictures that scream, “My individuality has been regulated out of me!” I mean really! Aren’t school pictures supposed to be a “snapshot”, a reflection of what the child looked like that year?

Heh. Now we get to look back at JBelle’s second grade pictures and remember the day, the only day, she didn’t have to wear a collared shirt and khakis.

::sigh::

*Not her real name, natch.

Updated: A couple of things came to my attention since writing this post. First, we got a letter home from Ms. Principal saying that the “no jeans” decision was actually something that fell under “principals discretion”, so she decided to allow the students the opportunity to wear jeans on picture day, if they so desired. Second, apparently each school gets 10 days a year when they can relax the SSA dress code and many schools were choosing to use picture day as one of their ten. A lot of this still totally irks me but as I reiterated to JBelle, these are the rules, we will abide by them and we’ll be respectful. And only Mommy can complain about on her blog ;) (no, I didn’t say that part to her!)

7 Comments

Filed under by Malia, on the other hand, Rant

7 responses to “Dear MNPS School Board, Please Make Up Your Minds!!

  1. And I still love the SSA dress code.

  2. Ugh!

    I almost wish they would wear the dress code appropriate clothing for pictures. I have very fashion conscious and “creative” (wink) 5-year-old. There’s no telling what we’ll end up wearing.

  3. Malia

    Yes Phil, I know. We’ll have to agree to disagree because I know I’m not going to convince you otherwise and you’re not going to persuade me to the other side, either.
    ;)

    Jamie – here’s something else that I found to be too funny. I was looking over the flyer that come home from the portrait company. On the list of recommended items to wear…solid colored shirts!!! Sheesh.

  4. Pingback: Music City Bloggers » Blog Archive » “My Individuality Has Been Regulated Out Of Me!”

  5. I’m starting to suspect that you don’t really like this dress code thing.

  6. Pingback: Volunteer Voters » Removing The Evidence

  7. lol. I hated when my kids had uniforms too. I’m so glad they can basically wear what they want this year! :)

Leave a Reply

