The Red Sofa Revisted or How We’ve Utilized one of the 4 “Rs”

Malia pictureWe bought a sofa a few weeks ago and today I called the furniture store and canceled the order. What it all boils down to is a sofa and two matching chairs became available that we could purchase for a little less than we paid for the red sofa. No, the “new to us” sofa isn’t red but that’s alright, because like the title of the post indicates, we’re able to reuse items instead of purchasing new.

Reusing is probably the second most utilized, in our household, of the four “maxims” I blogged about earlier. My favorite form of reuse is consignment sales. I’ve been shopping at consignment sales since JBelle was a baby and a couple of years ago, I started participating in them by putting my own items in the sale. I think the reason I really like consignment sales is because I’m not a big shopper. I sort of used to be but over the years I’ve become a bit of a “fuddy duddy” who only shops when necessary. I get very little pleasure out of just roaming around malls windowing shopping, browsing, etc. (There are occasional times when I want to do this, so I guess I’ve haven’t revoked my “womanhood” entirely!) When I shop, I have a purpose, an item in mind that I’m either wanting or needing. So, I do consignment sales because twice a year it becomes necessary to outfit my children for the upcoming seasons. They need clothes, consignment sales have clothes, that makes me happy, everybody wins!

Thrift stores are another great way to get items. I’ve only been in a few of them over the years and today, Meredith introduced me to one that’s really close and does a lot of good for our community. And of course, there’s the quintessential garage/yard sales. This kind of shopping is hit or miss and I usually don’t have the patience to go from store to store or house to house hoping to find a treasure. But I’ll definitely be going back to my neighborhood thrift store on a regular basis now that I know all about it!

Do you have any favorite ways of reusing?

5 Comments

Filed under by Malia, life as a domestic goddess

5 responses to “The Red Sofa Revisted or How We’ve Utilized one of the 4 “Rs”

  1. I’m going to be in your area in a few weeks and look forward to exploring Thriftsmart….sounds like a great place to find stuff!

  2. mary alice

    You are a cool chick, Malia! I love to re-use things too. I’d buy everything secondhand or re-purpose my own stuff everytime I needed something if it were possible.

    And you know Meredith? I’ve been reading her blog for a long time now and she has sort of become like a money-saving mentor for me, although she has no idea who I am.

    Planning to see you tomorrow for class!

  3. I do garage sales, consignment sales and thrift stores. I also regulary browse the Clearancee section of my fave stores (bed, bath and beyond, home goods, target, tjmaxx–yeah i’m a big spender!)

    I hit the motherload last weekend! I found NORITAKE CHINA at a garage sale….for FIFTY DOLLARS! I got 8 place settings, 2 veggie bowls, large platter, butter dish, creamer & sugar bowl, and salt and pepper shaker—ALL FOR FIFTY DOLLARS?? It’s a lovely elegant white on white pattern. I looked it up when I got home and found out it was nearly 40 years old (circa 1969)!! My heart nearly melted to butter when I learned it was 12 years from an antique–there is nothing I love more than an antique.

  4. Lisa

    I love it when a certain friend of mine (Tanya) hands down her boys’ clothes, especially since she has good taste! :) My husband has a yard sale obsession. He looks up the weekend’s yard sales on the newspaper online, finds the ones that look good, then even plans out which order he’s going to go to them. I’m not as into them; I might occasionally stop at one that looks big and hope to luck out and find something cool. I like consignment shops too, especially for cheaper but trendy clothes (hopefully). But the older the kids get, the harder it is to find clothes that are still in good shape.

  5. Ok I don’t normally repurpose things BUT I did at work! We needed a place for our congregation to go and sign up for service opportunities. I was ordering a new cart for our 2 and 3 year old worship supplies and so I am repurposing the old cart for our “service station”….ha! There! It requires too much effort to repurose stuff! Yes, I am lazy!

Leave a Reply

