Soundcheck

Malia pictureTap, tap. Is this thing on? Tap, tap.

So…how’ve you been? Good, glad to hear it. Me? Well, how much time you got?

Life is what happens when I’m not blogging. Profound, huh? Yeah. I’ve been busy lately. If you followed me from my old blog, you may remember tales of the Baked Chocolate Confection troop of the worldwide girls organization that rhymes with Curl Outs. You may remember that I wanted JBelle to join a troop last fall but did not want to be a leader of said troop. Thankfully, JBelle was placed into an existing troop with existing leaders and we had a wonderful experience even with the selling of rectangular shaped boxes of mostly circular shaped goodies. However, this year the co-leader has moved far, far away (to Spring Hill) and the leader wants a break and in order for the troop to survive, someone had to step in and be the leader and that someone would be…me. So enough with the euphemisms, I’m now a leader of a Girl Scout Brownie troop (Helloooo Googlers!) and yes, we’ll be selling Girl Scout cookies in January so be on the lookout! I’ve been inundated with logistics and training and paperwork and e-mails and phone calls and meetings and more paperwork and more logistics. It’s actually pretty fun and I’m enjoying myself but, whew! Now I know why the leader wanted a break!

My parents were in town last weekend for a long weekend visit. I always enjoy their visits but it also means lots of driving and visiting with other relatives and figuring out meal plans and just basic logistics. (I’m seeing a theme here.) It was a very nice visit. They got to experience Emily’s threes, Mom got to see JBelle swim in a swim meet, Dad got to go with DB to a barbershop competition (singin’, not hairstylin’!) and we all enjoyed watching Ginny and Roxy (Em’s dog) get to know each other and become immediate BFFs. (See Flickr for pics.)

Speaking of my old blog, I was looking over it last night (it’s still out there, just in a different form) and reading a post I wrote just about a year ago. I’m so glad that I wrote stuff about my kids because I had completely forgotten most of what I had written about! So, even though this post is getting “rawther” long, I’m going to write about the kids, for my sake, to preserve my ever failing memory. I think I’m going to utilize the “more” tag.

JBelle is growing up. Again with the profound statements but seriously! Sometimes I just look at her and I’m stunned at how she’s grown and matured. She’s smart and she notices everything and still asks tons of questions. She’s challenging me as a parent by asking about tough things like why Zac Effron was arrested for drinking and driving and he’s not even 21, yet. (Oi vey!) She’s being influenced more and more by her peers, and it’s not always in good ways. She loves to write. She has several journals, a few she’s made herself from taping/stapling paper together, a couple she has “re-purposed” (that’s our girl!) from other notebooks and her most prized one is the Alice in Wonderland journal from the Disney store that Granny and Pa gave her last weekend. She’s told me that sometimes on Saturday mornings if she wakes up too early (which she’s been told is anytime before 7 am!!) that she’ll sit in her bed and write in her journal. Wow. I’ve not read anything she’s written unless she’s showed it to me. I’m thinking that line needs to be respected even now. She’s a good little swimmer and if she keeps up with the swim team, she could be really good! Hopefully we’ll get the results from her first swim meet at practice today. We couldn’t stay for the entire meet last Saturday. It appeared, to us, that she was third of four swimmers in her event but we don’t know for sure and we’d also like to see her time. She wants to be Hermione for Halloween. (Note to self…must get on that now!) She never really got into reading the Harry Potter books but she’s still enamored with the characters (she’s seen the first two movies and that’s it for now until she’s older). She does her own hair for school in the mornings. She used to always ask me to put her hair in a ponytail or to braid it. But now that she’s figured out how to put her hair in a ponytail herself, she does it herself. Her independence is both thrilling and sobering to me. She carries a purse, everywhere! She’s seven. What does she need to carry in a purse? I don’t know but it’s her new attachment. I have to make her leave it in the car sometimes so I don’t worry about her losing track of it or it being distraction when she should be concentrating on other things (like at church). But you know what? She likes to play in the dirt. Hurray for childhood!

The GMan continues to be a source of humor and laughter in our home. He’s also whiny and demanding and almost three. Sounds about right. He’ll say, “I want a drink!” And I’ll remind him to ask nicely and say “please”. He’ll sort of mumble, “please”. Then later, I’ll give him something or do something for him and completely unprompted he’ll say, “Thank You Mommy!” very enthusiastically. So, we’re getting there with the manners thing. Some of his unique phrasing and word pronunciations are: front pooch = fruit punch, “after later” which is when everything happens, trumble bed = trundle bed, DB likes the way he says pickles but it’s hard to phonetically render so you’ll just have to trust us that’s it’s cute. He has trouble saying his “Ls”, so words like yellow sound like ye-yo and if you ask him his name, it’s Gayin. He, too, is showing an independent streak. I think it’s come with the potty training (which is going fabulously, no more incidents!) But he’s also still very much “our baby”. He and Ginny are best buddies. If Ginny is in the house, The GMan is with her (on top of her, next to her, touching her in some manner), they are inseparable. Though sometimes I get the feeling Ginny wishes he’s just leave her alone! He loves tractors and dump trucks and points them out whenever we are out and about. There’s a lot of construction going on around here so we’re never too far from some form of construction vehicle much to his delight. Whenever we leave the YMCA he goes to the desk and sticks both of his fists in front of the attendant to get hand “schtamps”. He was absolutely fascinated with the fall/Halloween decorations that I put up in house. I put them out one night after he had gone to bed and the next morning when we woke up he kept turning around and looking at them and pointing, saying, “Look! Look at that! What’s that!” And when my parents arrived at our house, one of the first things he did was make sure that they noticed the decorations! Like his sister, he is very inquisitive and a couple of weeks ago he added the final and most frustrating of the questions to his repertoire. That’s right, he’s now asking, “Why?” He’s also already very familiar with the reply, “Because I said so!”

This has post has gone on entirely too long! If you’ve stuck with me this long, thank you! Hopefully, I’ll “be around” more now that things are bit more calm.

2 Comments

Filed under by Malia, kids & family, life as a domestic goddess

2 responses to “Soundcheck

  1. thanks for introducing my dog on your blog before I did it on mine.. I’m such a bad dog owner that Roxy’s aunt has pictures up on her flickr before I do!

  2. You should plan a camping trip for that first weekend in Dec. (Nov. 30 – Dec. 2). My troop will be at Camp Holloway then! It would be a blast!

Leave a Reply

