Pictures

Malia pictureI set up a Flickr account a couple years ago to mainly showcase pictures of my children. I kept all the pictures public because frankly, I didn’t really think anyone except friends, family and the occasional blog reader would look at them. Over the past couple of years, I have received a few comments from friends, a few contacts who have marked some of the pictures favorites and some pictures that have been viewed more than others, but nothing that threw up any red flags. Until today.

Flickr e-mails me when there’s been “activity” on a picture, like someone leaving a comment or marking it as a favorite. I got an e-mail this morning notifying me that a picture had been marked as favorite. However, I don’t know the Flickr user who “favorited” my picture. The picture in question is one of both the kids. They are dressed-up and in particular, The GMan is wearing some of his sister’s clothes & has a flower barrette in his hair. The Flickr user in question has no pictures posted of their own, only favorites of other users; mostly people…no mostly children…no mostly young boys dressed-up in girls clothes!! And after looking at the tags of the pictures that this user has posted, they seem to be targeting tags, titles, etc with the words: dress or dress-up! (Also doesn’t help that the prefix of the user’s e-mail address [the only identifying feature] is “nmonster”!) A quick glance at the picture of mine and one similar to it on my Flickr page showed that both pictures had over 300 views!!

So…to wrap this little anecdote up, I blocked that user and I’ve marked just about every picture of the kids on my account as “Private – friends & family only”. If you’ve been viewing pictures on my Flickr page without being a registered user, I’m sorry, but you’ll have to register an account (it’s free!) and add me as a contact. Then I’ll add you as friend or family (whichever applies, as long as I know who you are!) and then you can see those pictures again. I know this probably a false sense of security but it does make me feel better knowing that, for the most part, not just anyone can look at these pictures for their own weird fetishes (hello Googlers!).

Speaking of pictures.

Whenever I want to order prints of digital pictures I’ve taken, I use Wal-Mart’s handy-dandy photo center website. It’s always been fairly easy and cheap. Until now. A few weeks ago, I went to the website to order some pictures for a school project that JBelle was working on. When I go to the checkout section it told me that the Wal-Mart (#1) I normally use for pick-ups was no longer accepting on-line orders. No problem, there are two other Wal-Marts (#2 & #3) very close to me so I chose another one(#2), placed my order and went on to do something else. Shortly thereafter the phone rang and it was someone from the Wal-Mart(#2) photo lab saying they couldn’t accept on-line orders but that the third Wal-Mart(#3) in my area could. Number Two Wal-Mart said they couldn’t transfer the order but that they would cancel it. Okay, fine. I went back to the website and ordered again and paid again thinking I would get credited since the order was supposed to be canceled. Next day, I picked up my pictures, no problem. But…I never got credited for the initial order! Since it was a very small amount, I didn’t go to the trouble to try and get reimbursed. Then…two weeks ago I ordered a few prints and specified Wal-Mart #3 as my pick-up location. I got busy and distracted and a week went by before I went to pick up my pictures. They didn’t have them. But the very nice, very helpful photo lab clerk called Wal-Mart #2 (the one that had called me back the first time saying they couldn’t process on-line orders) to see if for some reason the pictures were there. They were! Though I couldn’t figure out why. Today, after being busy and distracted for another week I finally got over to Wal-Mart #2 to pick-up my pictures. Guess which pictures they had waiting for me? That’s right! The ones they told me they couldn’t process. And I still don’t have the ones I ordered (and paid for) two weeks ago!!  All that to say, I gotta find a new place to get pictures printed!

15 Comments

Filed under by Malia, musings

15 responses to “Pictures

  1. I’ve used Walgreen’s online service since J.J. was born. No complaints and plenty of locations for picking up photos. And always ready in less than an hour, even when I’ve printed a couple hundred at a time. You can also opt to pay for your photos when you pick them up instead of when you submit the order, as long as the cost is under a certain amount. And, they always have special pricing around holidays (even mother’s day).

  2. Malia – since you have Flickr, you should be able to order prints off there easily (I’m not sure if you have to change any account settings, but I wouldn’t think so for your own account). You can either have them mailed to you or pick them up at Target. There’s a button at the top of the picture that says “order prints,” then it takes you to choosing sizes. Once you’re done choosing all your pictures, you go to the shopping cart and it takes you through the rest of the process. It’s easy! And should be at least comparable in price to Wal-Mart.

  3. (Perhaps obviously, the pictures you order have to be actually posted to Flickr, I think. I don’t know of any way you can send them photos that aren’t online. But even if they’re marked private, you still have the option to order your own prints.)

  4. I’ve been doing a lot with Flickr and Target, and haven’t had any problems at all. Muffy’s the only person I knew who had problems (if I remember correctly – I think it was her). She tried to print an awesome photo and they thought it was professionally done and asked her for the copyright/original. Heh.

  5. That is so sad you have to do that–but really what choice do you have?

  6. Oh that is really freaky. Sigh…

    I go back and forth about posting photos of my girls on my blog. I have greatly cut back. I actually posted a question about this over at Maya’s Mom today asking what other people do. I’ve even thought of putting sort of a watermark type thing on my photos of the girls. Weirdos are everywhere, though. Ugh!

    I use Winkflash and Shutterfly primarily. I’ve also used Target for digital pics. I am WAY behind on printing my favorites.

  7. I’ve been thinking about doing the same thing on flickr. Ugh.

  8. I have to say that this angered me. People are absolutely disgusting. As far as pics…my wife uses Snapfish for the digital pics and they are very reasonablly priced.

  9. you are not being over protective at all! as wonderful as the internet is, it’s also very scary and there are a lot of freaks out there. i made my blog private because i had so many pictures on there. i’m editing names/places/pictures before i got public and open again. if you don’t protect your kids, who will? if you have the time, you should send a friendly email to some of the other users who the man had favorited. i’m sure they’d appreciate.

    as for pictures: i use shutterfly (dot) com and I love it. Very reasonable, great pictures, wonderful service, etc. I’ve ordred pics as big as 11×14. Also, when my granddad sent back wedding pics I’d sent him because he thought it was a scam and he was going to have to pay for something if he opened it (paranoia??) i called and emailed them, they flagged the order, and reshipped it to him with no extra charge.

  10. YIKES at the freaks! That’s exactly why I don’t post photos much. I don’t have a Flickr account at all.

    I second Walgreen’s for photo service. We’ve used them for a couple of years, and I have no complaints at all. We use the 1 hour service, and many times my photos have been done within 20 minutes. Oh, and you don’t pay until you pick them up.

  11. Elizabeth

    That’s so freaky! Makes me second guess putting any pictures on my blog.

  12. I don’t use Flickr.

    While I do post (lots) of photos on my blog, I don’t like the idea of people just browsing through or searching a photo site for them.

    You can decrease a lot of the creepy Googling by not titling your photos when you upload them to your blog–just leave them numeric or nonsensical, without leading keywords.

  13. shutterfly, snapfish, kodakgallery, and dotphoto (all .coms) all offer an amount (from ten to fifty) of free 4×6 photos when you initially join (with no obligations to buy anything – just pay s&h). Unfortunately, I have already used my free photos with each site, but if you haven’t – they all did a great job with mine. Now, I usually order from kodakgallery and they get here quickly (and I don’t have to pick them up anywhere). :)

  14. Johnb856

    Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it. Look advanced to far added agreeable from you! By the way, how can we communicate? kkfekegdgfkk

Leave a Reply

