For What It’s Worth

Malia pictureI really don’t think there’s anything inherently wrong with posting pictures of my children on my blog or on my Flickr page. And I don’t think that refraining from posting pictures on my blog or marking them as private on the Flickr page is some sort of foolproof safety net for protecting my kids. Life, with or without the Internet, is full of all sorts of dangers and mishaps and evil. But it’s also full of all sorts of beauty and fun and love. I refuse to live in fear of what some stranger may or may not do because they saw pictures of my children. I’ll take precautions, I’ll be careful with information and images but I won’t tremble with dread and loathing and cut myself and my family off from all you.

If someone else feels that they don’t want to put pictures on their blog or have a picture sharing account, that’s fine. But don’t let my weird experience color your perceptions or bring fear into your life. Be confident, be safe, be smart and be yourself.

4 Comments

Filed under by Malia, musings

4 responses to “For What It’s Worth

  1. Malia…
    I applaud you. Seriously.
    The only reason I put my nieces pics on private now is not because of the internet, but because of the day job.
    But, I read this and think, you know, this is so awesomely groovy that I just want to applaud.

    You guys, and I’m a nerd, are SO NEAT.

  2. Malia

    Thanks NC, that really means a lot to me!!

  3. Elizabeth

    Thank you for saying that. As a parent, it’s easy to live in fear of something happening to your children and so we want to do everything we can to protect them. The reality is, it doesn’t matter how hard I try, I cannot control all evil, nor can I completely shield my kids from it. It’s like saying I’m not gonna drive in the car because I might get in an accident…..we just can’t live that way. I know that my blog with pictures is a blessing to our grandparents who live far away. Fear tends to make us forget the little blessings in life. So, I do really appreciate your post.

  4. Pingback: Music City Bloggers » Blog Archive » Malia’s Braver Than I Am

Leave a Reply

