Halloween Déjà vu

Malia pictureA couple of days ago I checked the network listings (not the local ones) to see who would be playing “It’s the Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown!” this week. I saw it listed on ABC for Tuesday night at 8e/7c pm. I had that in the back of my mind all day yesterday and after dinner I immediately sent JBelle to get ready for bed. She’s not happy about that. Of course, when I explained why, she was very obliging since she normally doesn’t get to watch television on school days! So at 7 pm we settle into the living room and turn on the television, only to encounter “The Jeff Fisher Show” or “Titans Take Two” or something like that and NOT our beloved Halloween special.

Then DB remembers that we experienced this exact same scenario last year and that triggers JBelle’s memory of last year’s disappointment and the GMan is just sitting there looking back and forth between his dad and his sister trying to figure whether or not he’s going to get to watch Charlie Brown. And I, I am standing there sort of half hearing the lamentations and complaints of the lost viewing opportunity because somewhere in the cobwebs of my brain (it’s been an entire year after all) a tiny, detail of a memory is emerging. And after a few seconds of letting it rise to the surface I say amidst the disappointed musings, “And…that’s…why…..we have it on DVD!!!!!”

It all came rushing back at that point. Nana, DB’s mother, being the thoughtful grandmother that she is, had purchased a copy of the DVD for the kids last year after getting an earful from her grandchildren* regaling her with the story of how it was so unfair that they didn’t get to watch “It’s the Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown!” on television because of a silly football show. I dug through the trunk that holds our DVDs, found what I was searching for and we watched “It’s the Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown!” last night and not that silly football show.

Take that WKRN!

*Well, maybe DB and I did most of the grousing about that. But it was totally on behalf of our children!

There’s more to share.

What was so very delightful about watching that show with my children last night was watching them watch the show. The GMan has major giggle fits over sound effects. Especially ones that indicate someone has run into something BAM! or dropped something CRASH! or knocked something over BOOM! He has the cutest giggle and his shoulders shake and it’s just the most adorable thing to witness. (That and watching him dance to those dancing/singing stuffed animal thingys at Target and Walgreens. He did that today at Walgreens and had a this young lady [oy! I'm old!] laughing at him and saying it was the cutest thing she’d seen, but I digress.) And JBelle is just on the cusp of being too “old” for the whole Charlie Brown holiday programming tradition. But since she’s not quite there yet, she was giggling and laughing and delighting in the program as well. It’s breaking my heart a little, watching her grow up. Sooner than I would like, magical things about the holidays are disappearing for her. This year she’s realizing that Halloween is not favored by everyone out there. And I’m guessing that if we make through this Christmas with Santa intact, it will be the last one.

2 Comments

Filed under by Malia, kids & family, Rant

2 responses to “Halloween Déjà vu

  1. Tanya

    Charlie Brown shows are a big hit in our household, too. We watched last night as we were carving pumpkins and making pumpkin bread…I used your pumpkin bread recipe – yum! I added dark chocolate chips to mine, though :)

  2. Dark chocolate — big surprise from Tanya!! :)

    I can’t say that we’ve discovered the joys of Charlie Brown with our children yet. I think it usually comes on ABC, which we don’t get very well, in fact it’s really static-y. So my kids don’t know about it, which is pretty sad!

    (Can we borrow your DVD? :) Just teasin’.)

Leave a Reply

