All Creation

oc-christmas-025_crop2.jpgThe Ladies Bible Study at my church that has just started is called “Cultivating Contentment”. I think it’s supposed to be about being content. (Yeah, yeah…I crack myself up!) We were having our group discussion time this morning and something about the verses we were looking at really stood out to me. It was Romans 8:19-22:

19 For all creation is waiting eagerly for that future day when God will reveal who his children really are. 20 Against its will, all creation was subjected to God’s curse. But with eager hope, 21 the creation looks forward to the day when it will join God’s children in glorious freedom from death and decay. 22 For we know that all creation has been groaning as in the pains of childbirth right up to the present time.

I piped up and tried to explain why this was important to me but I didn’t do a very good job. It was hard to say without sounding kind of crazy and without the ladies in class possibly thinking I’m really a polytheist. But I was quite struck by the multiple uses of “all creation” in this passage. It also makes me think of Luke 19:40 where Christ says:

40“I tell you,” he replied, “if they keep quiet, the stones will cry out.”

And there are numerous other references in the Bible to all of creation being part of giving glory to God and being affected by God’s will.

So, back to my musings. When I read, “all creation”, I think not only of mankind but of all the parts of this world; animals, trees, plants, flowers, oceans, rivers, mountains, glaciers, deserts, insects, etc, etc. And when I think about contentment, I believe that while it’s a worthy venture to try and find contentment in our circumstances, we will never be truly content until we “go home”. I think the restlessness of lives is a greater symptom of our underlying knowledge that “this world is not our home”. So, when I read that “all creation is eagerly waiting” and “looking forward”, I feel that even our planet is not completely content, not entirely satisfied with the status quo because even it knows that it’s not our true home. We’re all connected because we’re all the work of the Father and we’re all longing for the day when He calls us home.

And that’s what I was trying to say though it still may not make much sense!

2 Comments

Filed under by Malia, musings, religion

2 responses to “All Creation

  1. Interesting!

    I had never thought of it that way.

  2. diana

    Ah, one of my favorite songs …”This world is not my home, I’m just a’pass’n throug. My treasures are laid up somewhere beyond the blue …. “.

    Your “musings” actually hit on some of my favorite scriptures. I remind myself so often about the incompleteness of life on earth. I find great comfort and encouragement in scriptures such as ….
    2 Corinthians chapter 5 and 2 Peter chapter 5 (specifically references to “tent”)
    and Rev 7:15-17
    [15] Therefore,
    “they are before the throne of God
    and serve him day and night in his temple;
    and he who sits on the throne will spread his tent over them.
    [16] Never again will they hunger;
    never again will they thirst.
    The sun will not beat upon them,
    nor any scorching heat.
    [17] For the Lamb at the center of the throne will be their shepherd;
    he will lead them to springs of living water.
    And God will wipe away every tear from their eyes.”

Leave a Reply

