The Things We Do For Our Kids

oc-christmas-025_crop2.jpg

“I’ve got my laptop, cell phone, some blankets, my hat…”

“Application?”

“Yes.”

“Check?”

“Check.”

“Well…you know you really don’t have to do this?”

“Yes, I do.”

“Okay then, just be careful…stay warm…please don’t get arrested!”

And out the door he went to brave the cold and dark. To secure his spot in line. To get our son into preschool next year.

Yes, we are those kind of parents. And yes, this preschool program is so worth it.

Some may wonder why we would be so crazy as to camp out just to turn in a preschool application. Some may think we’ve set the bar a little to high for future parents. Be that as it may, this program is our first choice. It’s where our daughter attended preschool and Kindergarten. It’s where we want to see our son go to school. Last year, we didn’t get in. And that was fine, it really was. But realizing later, that those who had arrived not too long before you had their child accepted, kind of makes you want to make sure you’re first in line the next time around.

This year? We were second in line. That’s right. We weren’t the only ones with the camp out idea.

(To our friends who who read this and who commented to us about this scenario on Sunday morning, we know you were joking. I just see some humor in this and wanted to share our little adventure.)

8 Comments

Filed under by Malia, kids & family, parenting

8 responses to “The Things We Do For Our Kids

  1. Woo hoo! I don’t blame you one bit. Childcare is a competitive business in Nashville! I got on the waiting list at my girls’ daycare five months before Miss C was going to start attending and was told I was really really pushing it.

    Glad you didn’t get arrested. ;)

  2. that is so funny…
    so I guess we can assume Gman is OC-bound?

  3. There will be no assumptions. I have to say I did not like staying out all night nor would I recommend it for any daycare or preschool. I did it to assuage my conscience that if I had anything to do with him getting in, he would get in….that doesn’t necessarily mean he will get in because there are other factors that are considered before the order in which the application was received.

    20 people were lined up out in the cold by 5am to turn in their applications at 9am.

  4. Pingback: Music City Bloggers » Blog Archive » The family is the country of the heart.

  5. BrenOaks

    Holy cow…I am not as crazy a parent as I thought…there are crazier ones out there….kidding. Hope he gets in!

  6. I have to admit, that is really bizarre to me. But I laughed!! :)

  7. I’ve heard of other parents going to similar extremes.
    Don’t feel like you’re the only one. Obviously, you know that.
    Thank goodness Mabel got accepted into obedience school without a hitch.

  8. Pingback: From Yesterday’s Mail… « live. laugh. love.

Leave a Reply

