No Words

oc-christmas-025_crop2.jpgMy sister asks at her place why there hasn’t been much “coverage” about the shootings at Northern Illinois University? Specifically lacking have been blog posts. And as alumni of Virginia Tech, it may have crossed some your minds, why have we been “silent” about this?

I don’t really have an answer to that. I have no words. I have a bunch of feelings, though and yet feelings can be so hard to describe. I’m sad. I’m angry and frustrated. I hurt deeply for the NIU community because I know what they are going through. I hate that evil can take hold of someone so viciously that they would take out their anger and fear out on others and then take it out on themselves so that they don’t have to suffer the consequences of their actions. I really hate that.

As for mainstream media and other bloggers, I could speculate that since the tragedy at NIU was smaller in scale than at VT, it didn’t simply didn’t receive the same amount of attention. I could theorize that we’re becoming more jaded and “used to” this kind of thing. But I just really don’t know.

Despite all that, I’m encouraged and heartened by the outpouring of support that has come from VT to NIU. Dr Charles Steger, President of VT issued this statement on Thursday. I found (and joined) a Facebook group called “Hokies for the Huskies, Pray for Northern Illinois: We are behind you. We are here for you. We love you. Stay strong and be safe.” That is just one of many groups that has formed in support of NIU.

Though no matter what the “scale” of the tragedy, there are parents, siblings, families, friends, teachers and administrators mourning the loss of these students. There is an university community that now needs to heal. I feel certain they will prevail and come through braver and stronger on the other side.

More about memorials and support here.

1 Comment

Filed under by Malia, random, Virginia Tech

One response to “No Words

  1. I don’t really keep up with news that much, and actually most of what I know comes from blogs. I didn’t even know about the incident until Emily posted about it – so I’m also wondering why there hasn’t been that much said! I definitely plan to look for ways to support the community at NIU.

Leave a Reply

