Please Excuse My Dear Aunt Sally

oc-christmas-025_crop2.jpgSunday morning in Bible class, our teacher wrote an algebraic equation on the board to illustrate a point he wanted to make about studying the Bible. DB and I have been attending a class that is comprised mostly of a more “mature” demographic. The first few murmurs upon seeing the equation were of the, “I can’t remember how to do that!” kind. Then from somewhere in the back of the room I heard someone call out, “45!” (Which, by the way, was the correct answer!) So, our teacher says, “how do we solve this equation?” There are some teachers and nerds smart people, like DB, in the group who knew that you use “order of operations” also known as PEMDAS = Parenthesis Exponent Multiplication Division Addition Subtraction or the way it’s taught in schools (like the way they teach the music scale), “Please Excuse My Dear Aunt Sally”.

What was interesting to me, (and this is one of the annoying autobiographical pauses as Newscoma is found of saying) was that even though for the life of me I couldn’t remember “order of operations” or “PEMDAS” or even “Please Excuse My Dear Aunt Sally”, my brain immediately started solving the parenthesis first, then the exponents, then the multiplication, etc. All those years of algebra from middle school on up actually stuck somewhere in my head even though it’s been at least 12+ years since I used those methods! Of course, once I had solved all the knowns on either side of the equation, I still had unknown “X” and at that point, I couldn’t exactly remember what I was supposed to do. DB explained it and it all came back to me again. Kind of like riding a bike, or roller skating…

I took JBelle rolling skating last week and that time, I rented skates and took a shot at it. I only fell twice! It’s been at least 20 years since I was on skates…

It also made me think that of how when we study the Bible and learn scriptures and teach Bible stories to our kids, it becomes ingrained in us and part of lives, thinking, decision making and problem solving. Proverbs 4:20-22 says, “My child, pay attention to what I say. Listen carefully to my words. Don’t lose sight of them. Let them penetrate deep into your heart, for they bring life to those who find them, and healing to their whole body.”

1 Comment

Filed under by Malia, musings

One response to “Please Excuse My Dear Aunt Sally

  1. diana

    I’m feeling really pleased right now …..
    Psalm 119 comes to mind ….

Leave a Reply

