Prom Part One

My sophomore year of high school I was dating a senior from another school. Round about February the word “prom” came up. I was certain there was no way I’d be allowed to go to prom with him. Like I said in my last post, we’re Church of Christ, we just don’t do that! So I took a deep breath and approached my mother with the subject. Much to my surprise she didn’t even bat an eye. In fact the conversation went something along the lines of, “Of course you’re going to prom with him! He’s your boyfriend and it’s his Senior Prom!” Wow. I was floored and ecstatic. I was going to prom!

We went to dinner at a restaurant, whose name I don’t recall, with the boyfriend’s best friend and his date. The prom was held in a hotel ballroom somewhere and afterwards we went back to the best friend’s house, played games, watched movies and I think eventually, in the wee hours of the morning we headed back to the boyfriend’s house and crashed. (I should explain that said boyfriend lived in Maryland, I lived in Virginia. I often stayed the weekends with his family and bunked in with one of his sisters.)

One particularly funny memory was the sister, whose room I was sleeping in, had told her brother earlier that day to wake her up when we got back to the house because she wanted to see us all dressed up. (I think she was working that evening and couldn’t be there when we left for dinner.) When we got back to the house, we went into her room and tried to wake her up. She sort of sat up, looked at us and then rolled over and went back to sleep. The next morning she was so mad at us for not waking her up! We insisted that we had and told her that she had even opened her eyes. We thought she had seen us but apparently she wasn’t really awake.

My, my, my! What ever can I say about this picture? Mint green dress. Mint green shoes. Mint green hair barrette. I look like a dish of mint sorbet! The boyfriend’s bowtie and cummerbund were as close to mint green as the tux shoppe had. Sadly though, the bow on my corsage was more of an aqua color and clashed with my ensemble! Look at those bangs! It was 1990 afterall. We were still working the big 80s hair! Oh! And the white pantyhose! Dear me. Nice creases in the satin. I’m pretty sure he’s wearing tails. I think I remember him specifically saying he wanted to wear a tux jacket with tails.

Next up, DB’s Senior Prom.

2 Comments

Filed under by Malia, musings

2 responses to “Prom Part One

  1. Sheryl

    I remember that picture! :-) I think I still have it somewhere. Oh, the memories! At least you were able to go to prom… I didn’t. :-(

  2. diana

    I was hoping you would talk more about the dress ….. ;-)

Leave a Reply

