Prom Part Three

We are now up to my senior prom. So if you’re keeping track, that means I attended three proms. I’ve heard from some of you that say you didn’t go to prom at all. I hope you know I’m not trying to brag here. I was chatting with Lisa this morning and I told her how, as I look back on all of this, it doesn’t seem like such a big deal now though I know it was a pretty big deal (for me, at least) back then. The best part was getting dressed up and going out to eat. Most of our “dates” consisted of us hanging out at one or the other’s house and watching movies. If we went out to eat, it was McDonald’s or Shoney’s or Friendly’s (oh! I miss that place!). Getting dressed up and going out to eat at a fancy restaurant seemed so grown up! And indeed, it is. Nowadays, our monthly “date night” is going to the symphony and out to dinner beforehand. We get “dressed up” (well, as dressed up as we get these days, no formal dresses or tuxedos here anymore!) and choose a restaurant that we wouldn’t otherwise go to because we usually have the kids with us! And I have heard from some you who have enjoyed seeing the pictures, which is really my intent in all of this, to reminisce and have fun!

When we were working on the last post about DB’s senior prom, I was surprised that DB didn’t seem to remember a lot about his senior prom! I remember so much about that night! Yet, as I sit here ready to write about my senior prom…I find myself in the same shoes. A lot of what I remember is auxiliary to the actual night. It was 1992, the economy was in a recession and it had hit a particularly low point earlier in the year. I was working at the same job I’d had the year before (in a discount clothing store) and everyone’s hours had been drastically cut back. David was a freshman at Virginia Tech that year and I was spending the majority of my extra money on weekend trips to visit him. I remember at one point thinking that I just might have to forgo prom since I couldn’t afford all the expenses involved. I remember a good friend of mine suggesting that I stop taking weekend trips to Tech and save that money for prom. Though it made perfect sense, it sounded like complete crazy talk to me! Give up going to visit DB? Never!

It turned out, that we hit an upswing and once again I was working normal hours and making more money. Still, it would be difficult to pay for everything involved. The biggest expense would be dinner. Neither of us could afford to pay for a fancy dinner at fancy restaurant this year. Then DB’s mom offered to make dinner for us! She cooked a delicious meal (veal parmigiana) and had set up the dining room in their house for a romantic, candlelit dinner.

The actual prom was held at a much nicer hotel than the year before. Props to the junior class (senior class of ’93)! But I remember absolutely nothing about being there. Zip. Nada. Zilch! I know we went because I do remember the location and a room full of people dressed up and “dancing”. Or maybe that was Nathan and Alicia’s wedding reception….(it was held at the same hotel) Heh. Anyway, just goes to show how “memorable” prom can be! And afterwards? I don’t even remember whether or not we showed up back at the school for the After Prom event. Pathetic.

OK, OK, what you really want is pictures…

There is not a professional picture from this prom. Not because we didn’t have one taken but because when it arrived in the mail a few weeks later it was awful! Worst. Picture. Ever! My eyes were half closed and I was slouching and it looked really bad. There was no way I spending money on that picture! These were taken at my house. I don’t know why, but I don’t have any from that night that were taken at DB’s house. So…senior year, I was feeling rather “mature” and thought that basic black would be tres chic. I borrowed the black satin gloves from a coworker. I don’t remember my shoes. I’m fairly certain I didn’t get dyed black satin pumps like the two years. I believe they are just nice, black dress shoes (probably bought them that the store I worked at!) but I can’t really see them in the picture because of the floor length dress. DB’s bowtie and cummerbund are a black/gray/white paisley pattern. There are red roses in my corsage and in his boutonni√®re. Aren’t we just the picture of sophistication? My hair appears much bigger than it actually was because of shadows in the picture.

And that’s it! Up next, I talk a bit more about my dresses.

4 Comments

Filed under by Malia, musings

4 responses to “Prom Part Three

  1. You both look tres sophisticated!

    Hubby went to senior prom with me…he was a sophomore. Yes I was robbing the cradle (back then..he’s actually only a year and a half younger than me). ;)

  2. yah.. I never went to any proms. But it never really bothered me that much. I remember senior year when everyone I knew was preparing for prom — getting their dresses & tuxes and reserving limos and tables at expensive restaurants. The whole time I kept thinking, “I can’t believe these people are spending so much money on a night they will probably not remember 10 years from now.” And then the icing came… the day after prom, everyone came back to school complaining about how bad it was.
    That was fun for me. ;)

  3. Emily, you sound like me!! :)

  4. Loving the prom posts… my fave is the black dress. :) Makes me want to make a prom post… :)

Leave a Reply

