Sunscream and Stones

At the pool the other day, our first official pool day of the season, I was slathering sunscreen on the kids and the GMan kept calling it “sunscream”!

That same day when we arrived home after pool time and errands, I was a bit of a mess. I had overdone it physically and was hurting. I told DB that all I wanted to do was take a shower and rest for awhile. He was encouraging and accommodating* and he took over emptying the grocery bags while I headed to shower. Awhile later, when I emerged from our bedroom clean and refreshed, I saw DB and the GMan in the kitchen putting something onto a cookie sheet. When the GMan saw me his said, “Mommy! We’re making stones!” Now with a geologist for a dad, you just never know about these things! As it turns out, they were making scones. Blueberry scones to be precise and when they were done, I whipped up some homemade whipped cream to go with them. Yummy!

One more GMan tidbit:

We went to Nashville Shores last weekend and within 30 minutes of arriving home that afternoon, this is how we found the GMan. He was exhausted!

*Can I just take a moment to brag on my wonderful husband! I felt really bad about coming home from a day of frivolity and fun in the sun only to dump grocery bags and kids at his feet while I fled for some solitude and relaxation. But he’s such a generous and loving guy that it didn’t seem to phase him one bit. If the situation had been reversed, would I have been as encouraging and accommodating for him as he was for me? I don’t know but I sure hope so.

3 Comments

Filed under by Malia, love & marriage, The GMan

3 responses to “Sunscream and Stones

  1. That’s a sweet post. And good for DB to be so quick to help out so generously.

  2. Sheryl

    What a sweet picture. Kids can sleep in the most interesting positions… I’m finding that out very quickly. :-)

  3. My Emma calls it sunscream too! She says, “somescream” though. She is four. How old is Gman?

    malia

Leave a Reply

