Friend

I’ve tried to become more intentional with the word “friend”. I have noticed that in conversations, I will often refer to someone as “a friend” though they may actually be better defined as an acquaintance. Sometimes, they’re not even an acquaintance but just someone whose blog I read. I think that devalues the word “friend” when I use it so casually.

My real friends are those people I know I can rely on. Some of those I simply rely on to read these words and occasionally leave a comment. Others I rely on for companionship and conversations. There are those I rely on for a good laugh, a sincere compliment, encouragement, or even a prayer. Still others are relied on to help in tough situations. Many overlap in all those areas.

I’m blessed by friendships of all kinds. For that, I am truly grateful.

3 Comments

Filed under by Malia, friends, musings

3 responses to “Friend

  1. I’m glad I read this tonight. I, too, am thankful for the many different kinds of friends I have in my life.

    From the truly close to the casual blog commenter, it’s affirming to exist among those we respect and care about. And it’s nice to trust that we are the same to them.

    Be well.

  2. Sheryl

    eventhough we are so far apart, I consider you one of my very close friends – in a ‘sisterhood’ kind of way. you have been such a blessing to my life and i love and miss you so much, my dear friend!!
    we may not talk all that often but you’re in my thoughts and prayers always!!

  3. A friend is who share their thoughts, happiness, sad, worries and secret with each other. She/He will always be there when you need her/him. As long as you wish to share your happiness/sorrow. They will always support and give you a listening ear and assistance.

Leave a Reply

