If I Didn’t Have Kids

Occasionally occurs to me that if I didn’t have kids:

I wouldn’t find toys or rocks or books in my bed when it’s time for me to go to bed at night.

I wouldn’t find toys or rocks or books in my bathroom.

I wouldn’t find toys or rocks (not usually books) in pants pockets when doing the laundry.

I wouldn’t buy Cheerios and Goldfish crackers or have a never ending supply of peanut butter.

I wouldn’t read children’s literature.

I wouldn’t have an annual membership to the zoo.

I wouldn’t watch Disney movies.

However…

Before becoming a parent, I wouldn’t have thought that finding toys and rocks and books left in my bed, bathroom or pockets could be so endearing. (Yes, it can be annoying too, especially since I try so hard to get them to put their stuff away!)

Before becoming a parent, I didn’t realize the nutritional value and sheer tastiness of Cheerios and Goldfish crackers. And I didn’t realize how good a peanut butter and jelly sandwich could taste a lunchtime.

Before becoming a parent, my knowledge of children’s literature pretty much stopped at The Cat In The Hat. I hadn’t yet discovered the treasure of writers that abound in this genre. And I never realized how much I would enjoy sharing my favorite books from childhood with my own kids.

Before becoming a parent, the zoo seemed silly and immature and overrated. (It’s not. Actually, it can be silly but in a really fun way!)

Before becoming a parent, well…I still watched Disney movies but now I get to share my favorites with my children and find new favorites to share with them.

There are many other things I could list but you get the point, I’m sure. Life is just so much fuller with them around.

2 Comments

Filed under by Malia, kids & family

2 responses to “If I Didn’t Have Kids

  1. I do actually have a never ending supply of peanut butter…

  2. Yeah, pb (and sometimes j) is still a staple, and I’ve recently taken back up the Cheerios habit. But yes, I get the point, and this was a lovely way to put it.

Leave a Reply

