Not Your Cruise Director

I think the thing that drives me the most crazy about the “roles” I play in motherhood is when my children expect me to constantly entertain them. After we’ve been out & about and are heading back home, I inevitably get the question, “What are going to do when we get home?” And I’m thinking, “What do you mean ‘what are we going to do when we get home?’ We’re going to be home! We’re going to do things that we do at home!” Or, after I’ve spent time, energy and usually a wad of cash on entertaining them I get this, “So, what are we doing next?” And I’m thinking, “What do mean ‘what are we doing next?’ That wasn’t enough? You need more? I just provided you with a fabulous, entertaining experience!”

I’m pretty sure I’ve even muttered the words (not that they even understand the implication), “I’m your mother, not your cruise director!” And it’s true. I’m the mother. I do a lot of things for my kids each and every day, I even entertain them at times but I can’t and won’t do it all the time. They need to learn to fend for themselves on all kinds of life skills from feeding to toileting to occupying their own time.

When left to their own devices, they have proved wonderfully imaginative and accomplished at entertaining themselves. Sometimes they begrudgingly head outside to play and when I check on them they’re always doing something. They’re not just sitting on the driveway or in the yard poking at ants. They’re swinging and climbing and playing and building and digging. All the things kids should be doing!

I do like being with them and having fun with them but I’m also working on raising them to be independent, free thinking adults and that means sometimes I schedule their playtime but it’s also going to be up to them to direct their own cruise!

6 Comments

Filed under by Malia, kids & family, life as a domestic goddess, musings

6 responses to “Not Your Cruise Director

  1. I find myself saying “This is NOT a restaurant!” lately. And yes I am frustrated when I say it so I’m probably not saying it, but yelling it. ;)

    My girls are the same way. Honestly my mother did NOT entertain me in any way at all.I climbed trees, read, played hours with my Barbies, etc. My siblings are all much older than me so I was raised like an only child. Any way, I try to turn the TV off and tell the girls to go play. I’m also amazed at what they come up with imagination wise, although they tend to tear the house apart when they are doing it. ;)

  2. I get so tired of arguing about why they need to go outside and play…..there is never “anything to play with outside”! Whatever! I played outside from lunch time to supper time when I was a kid!

  3. I hate that my kids think they have to go somewhere else and spend lots of money to have any fun. They always have fun when they’re outside!! They have fun downstairs in the play room! They can actually play together for a little while without griping at each other! Why would they want to go somewhere?! :)

  4. Petra

    I have the answer to this: have a few more kids. Then they all entertain each other and leave you alone when you need them to. :)

    Seriously though, I do know what you mean. I am left at home during the days with only Jacob now that the 4 older kids are back in school, and the boy thinks he needs to be by my side 24/7 because there are no kids around to entertain him. We’re working on him entertaining himself though – because like you say… I’m not his cruise director. :) :) :)

  5. Oh, boy, can I relate to this. Nothing to add, just that I know exactly what you mean.

Leave a Reply

