Everything* I Know About Baseball I Learned From My Mother

The quintessential adage about how life was so much harder for parents than their children is the “walking to school, up hill, both ways, in the snow (with numerous variations and additions) story”. But when I was a child, what impressed me more that any tales of having to walk anywhere was when I found out that my mom’s family didn’t have a television! What? No TV? I was flabbergasted. How did one survive without television?

My mom always had a way of surprising me with information about her life. Take for instance the time she let it slip that she not only did she know it was World Series season but she knew which teams were playing and who was leading in wins! Now, sports and my mother are about as foreign to each other as Donald Trump and a good haircut, so this revelation came as complete shock to me! Why would she know this?

It kind of went back to the TV thing. As I remember it, they did get to watch television, they just had walk (shocker!) to a neighbor’s house to do so. Most specifically, they would go to watch the World Series. She explained that ever since then she, out of habit, followed the World Series.

And pretty much ever since I learned that about her, I do to. I don’t care a lick about baseball any other time of year. But when the World Series begins, I may or may not watch the games, but I always know who is playing and what the win count is. (Phillies – 1, Rays – 1)

I wonder what things about my childhood would seem hard to my children? Is there anything about my life that they would find surprising?

*OK, may not everything but she did get the “ball” rolling!

5 Comments

Filed under by Malia, musings

5 responses to “Everything* I Know About Baseball I Learned From My Mother

  1. This is an adorable post! My kids, I’m fairly certain, would be shocked to know that I remember my mother’s first ever dishwasher. It looked like a washing machine and it was on wheels. It was parked in a corner of the kitchen, and when it was time to do dishes you rolled it over to the sink and hooked its hose up to the faucet to run it. So you couldn’t use your kitchen sink while the dishwasher ran!

  2. Pingback: A Cat From A Lifetime Ago « Where’s the Mute Button?

  3. diana

    Somewhere along the way … I certainly don’t recall when … I did cease to follow the World Series and baseball in general. But, yes, it is a little known piece of “mom” trivia that I did grow up following baseball. We were Yankee fans back then. I am aware of which teams are in the WS this year – only b/c it’s taking place right here in our own backyard.
    More trivia … I, as a child, attended several rodeos.
    I will certainly vouch for the accuracy of the footnote … “*OK, may not everything ….”.

  4. We didn’t have a TV growing up. We read books and played outside. When my parents got married in 1963, they decided they didn’t want a TV to just sit and veg in front of. I was the youngest of 7, though, so by the time most of the other siblings were grown and gone, my parents finally broke down and got a TV. I was 11 years old. Before that, not only did we not HAVE a TV, but I really wasn’t allowed to watch it at other people’s houses either (I didn’t abide by that rule though). :)

    I have lots of good stories like that for my kids. I tell them how good they have it and follow up with one of my stories. ha!

    Great post! :)

  5. Oh, it was 1987 when they got a TV – so they did stick to their ‘no TV’ thing for quite a long time. :)

Leave a Reply

