Election Day Nostalgia

sassy_cropThe GMan’s birthday* was this past Sunday. But four years ago, Election Day was his birthday. Our baby boy was born at ~7:45am on Nov. 2, 2004. We had already voted because this was scheduled c-section and we knew we’d be otherwise occupied that day! In some ways, to me, today feels more like his birthday than Sunday did.

We watched some of the election coverage in the hospital room that night but then shut it off when it became fairly obvious that a winner would not be determined. I remember that early the next morning, a nurse came in to check my vitals and she said something to the effect of, “Well, we still don’t know who our next president will be!”.

That, of course, harkened back to four years earlier in 2000 when the presidential race was hotly contested and the winner was not officially determined until sometime in December. That year, JBelle was only about 5 months old. I remember that DB came home from work and we took her with us to our polling place. I had dressed her in a red onesie with a hat that was white with red and blue stars on it. As we were leaving the polling area, we were stopped by local TV news reporter and cameraman to answer a question about the election. Later that evening, JBelle made her television debut!

Four years prior to that in 1996, I didn’t vote. Not because I didn’t want to but because I had procrastinated (shocker, I know!) and had not yet registered under my new, legal married name.

And prior to that was my first eligible presidential election as a new “adult”. I turned 18 in 1992 and that fall, while attending Virginia Tech, I filled out and mailed in an absentee ballot. This year, our eighteen year old, college freshman niece did the same!

I don’t wax political here on live. laugh. love., that’s DB’s job. And I’m not what you call “patriotic”. But as long as I am able to, I will vote. Not because I believe some politician will “save” us. Not because I think our government can “save” us. But because I have the honor and priviledge of living in a country that gives me the right to do so. And because years and years ago, women who were far braver and savvier and smarter than I’ll ever be risked more than I probably would be willing to risk to make sure that I had the right to vote and let my voice be heard.

*more on that, with pictures, later!

3 Comments

Filed under by Malia, kids & family, musings

3 responses to “Election Day Nostalgia

  1. I love that last paragraph. I am not incredibly patriotic either, but I do appreciate people who try to protect our freedoms and privileges. I don’t really get into all the excitement of elections and such, but I take advantage of the right to vote.

    Happy Birthday, GMan! I am looking forward to Derek’s birthday coming up soon! :)

  2. Anita

    Hey I just think it’s cool that your “name” will be in the Whitehouse! I have never heard the name “Malia” before, and love the story of how you got the name. A neat Hawaiian connection. And now with little Malia in the Whitehouse, we might be seeing that name a bit more.

  3. Malia

    I hope that with a Malia in the White House, people will finally know how to pronounce our name correctly!

Leave a Reply

