Smitten: from the rules were meant to be broken files

blissfulchicks_cropSo yeah, I showed a bit of “righteous indignation” last week with the whole “no Christmas anything before Thanksgiving” rhetoric. Well, as they say, pride goeth before the fall.

Among my inane holiday rules is the denial of holiday type treats until after Thanksgiving. That means no Peppermint Mochas from Starbucks, no Peppermint Mocha coffee creamer for my coffee, no red and green M&Ms, no Christmas treats of any kind until, all together now, after Thanksgiving. Well…

We, meaning me and GMan, needed a “get out of the house” distraction today. He suggested Chick-fil-a, I said fine, let’s go! And off we went on our merry way. We got lunch, we ate, he played, I eyed the dessert menu and wouldn’t you know…they were offering a holiday milkshake. A Peppermint Chocolate Chip Milkshake. And I, well, I caved. It was irresistible. I mean look at it!

chick-fil-a-pep-choc-shake

It’s pink! And pepperminty! And it has chocolate in it! Don’t forget the whipped cream with cherry on top!

And I’m…smitten. Thanksgiving, schmanksgiving, after all, rules were meant to be broken, right? I’ll be finding an excuse to get my hands on one of these beauties as often as possible because in a mere 43 days, they’ll be gone.

7 Comments

Filed under by Malia, random

7 responses to “Smitten: from the rules were meant to be broken files

  1. We can all pretend the peppermint has to do with heartburn and nothing at all with Christmas and then we don’t feel guilty! See there…no rule broken. :)

  2. Tanya

    I SO have to try this! I am a huge fan of peppermint and chocolate together. YUM!!!

  3. Without the pink food coloring, it wouldn’t be a holiday milkshake–it would just be mint chocolate chip–so I’m contending you only broke your rule on the most Pharisaical of levels. And we know what Jesus said about the Pharisees.
    :P

  4. diana

    who needs friends, when you have enablers ….
    And, you have now become more than a daughter to me … you are now an “informer”! Let’s just see how long I last into the 43, 42, days left to indulge. I promise I won’t be breaking any of your rules – but some of mine will be severely bent.

  5. I agree with you on the “no christmas before Thanksgiving” thing but last week I stopped into Borders and grabbed a coffee while perusing the books. It was supposed to be Eggnog flavored. As a bit of Thanksgiving redemption is tasted like burnt diapers. Don’t mess with the ghosts of Thanksgiving Pilgrims!

  6. Oh my…I may just have to make a run to the Chick this week!

  7. That is really tempting! I haven’t been to Chick Fil A in far too long. Hmmm…

Leave a Reply

