Normal

gingersharonme_cropI think I’m feeling a bit like that cartoon worm, Hermie. He asks God why he’s so…well…normal. God tells him to be patient, He’s not finished with him yet. And in the end, Hermie becomes a beautiful, rather extraordinary and certainly not normal, butterfly.

Lately I’ve been reconnecting with high school classmates on Facebook. We usually exchange e-mails or Facebook messages catching each other up on what we’ve been doing for the last 16 or so years. I typically write something like this:

David and I have been married for 13 years. We have 2 kids: JBelle, 8 and GMan, 4. We live in Nashville, TN and have been here for about 11 1/2 years now. His family is here, too. My parents are in Tampa, FL  and my sister lives here in Nashville, too.

I’m a stay-at-home mom and David is a geologist. That’s about it in a nutshell. We have a typical, American, suburban live complete with dog and mortgage!

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not complaining about my life. It’s a good life. I have much to be grateful for and I am, indeed, grateful. Yet…I can’t get past the normalcy of it. Something in me longs to shake things up a bit.

I don’t want to be normal anymore.

6 Comments

Filed under by Malia, musings

6 responses to “Normal

  1. Oh my freakin word! Your husband is a geologist? For reals?

    My Shark LOVES rocks so much! He has a reference book and he collects them everywhere and tries to look up what they are. His sister is giving him rocks for Christmas!

    Maybe some time in the new year, if your husband wouldn’t mind meeting a little fan, we could get together and David could let him ask some questions.

    Last night I completely forgot about vespers! Just out-of-my-mind completely. I wish you had nudged me! We have our pageant tonight at school and the church party tomorrow and I had laundry up around my ears and it slipped my mind completely. But y’all don’t just do it at Christmas right?

  2. You know, the funny thing about this is I have a post running around in my mind about how we U.S. Americans are programmed to crave a constant state of novelty. A satisfactory normal is unacceptable. I’m actually sort of learning to like normal. It is deeply fulfilling for me.

  3. There are days I feel a great loss of identity because being “just a mom” seems so ordinary and dull. My work made me more interesting (in my own mind). But there are other days I remember the craziness, angst, and chaos that brought us to this exact point in our lives and am thankful for the ordinary.

  4. Huh. I’ve never felt ‘normal’. What’s that like? Is it actually boring? I would have no idea. My life has been anything but. I’m *longing* for some normalcy! I *want* to settle down with a dog and a mortgage and build stability for my children!! (which we hope to get a little of with this next move to NC). :) :) :)

  5. I’m learning to embrace “normalcy” and see it as a good thing, but I know what you mean. Especially since I am approaching the big 4-0. I feel like I should be doing something different, but not sure what. But I think it’s healthy to have a general sense of wanting to shake things up. You know…as long as you don’t go all Britney Spears on us Malia! ;)

    I’m signing up for a free hip hop dance class at Miss C’s dance school next year. How’s that for shaking things up? Of course I will be laughing at myself the entire time…

  6. Jeanne M.

    Be careful what you “wish” for. The normalcy will be much desired when bad things happen, and if you live long enough, they will. How you deal with them is what is important. I thought we had lived a very normal life until 2008. Then several bad things have happened, and I “wish” for normalcy again.

Leave a Reply

