Vegetarian Chili: Mouthwatering Monday

PhotobucketMy girl Rachel over at From the Land of Monkeys & Princesses hosts Mouthwatering Mondays. It’s about posting an uber delish recipe to share with your readers and getting a little link love in return. I thought I’d share a little something I whipped up earlier this week. I forgot to photograph it, so you’ll just have to use your imaginations!

JBelle, our 8 year old, recently decided to become a vegetarian. We’ve been very supportive of her and I have been trying to find ways to make meals that we all can eat. We all like chili, so I decided to put together a vegetarian chili. It was a hit!

Here’s what I used:

  • 2 cans Bush’s pinto beans in mild chili sauce
  • 1 can Bush’s red beans in mild chili sauce
  • 1 can Bush’s seasoned black beans
  • 1 can mild Ro*tel
  • 1 large can crushed tomatoes
  • one small onion, finely chopped
  • about 1 T minced garlic
  • about 1 T chili powder

It’s simple to put together. I sauteed the onions and garlic in a bit of olive oil until soft. Then I put everything into a pot and simmered for a few hours on low. Voila!

It’s totally tonguegasmic!

Speaking of…this one’s for the married ladies in the house. See that 1 Cor 7:5 Challenge button over there to the right? Up a bit, right under the BlissDom ’09 button…yeah, that one! That’s something else I’ll be participating in…you might want to, too. ;)

5 Comments

Filed under by Malia, life as a domestic goddess, link love

5 responses to “Vegetarian Chili: Mouthwatering Monday

  1. This sounds great. Would have been perfect for my vegetarian menu plan I put together for this week!

  2. rachel30

    Yum Yum Malia!!! and we aren’t vegetarian but it sounds delish! Totally tonguegasmic!!

    I might have to toss this into the crocker one day!

  3. I posted a chili recipe today too!

    This is great though – my sister and BIL are vegetarians so I’ll keep this recipe to use for when they visit. Thanks!

  4. Thanks for the linky love!!

  5. Pingback: Mouthwatering Monday Redux « live. laugh. love.

Leave a Reply

