A Menu of Ailments

glamour MaliaBoth of our children have wonderful, active imaginations. Pretend play has been a staple in their early childhood years. With JBelle it was acting out scenes from her favorite movies, which was funny because….

JBelle to me: “Mommy, you be Belle and I’ll be Gaston” or “Mommy, you be Analise and I’ll be Preminger”

…she always wanted to be the bad guy!

The GMan, on the other hand, is all about occupations. He likes to pretend he is working in an industry. His current obsession is all things emergency services related. We spend many days being fire chiefs, police officers and occasionally ambulance drivers. His other favorite is playing “restaurant”. He’s the server and we’re the guests. We get to order from an often unpredictable menu of options. It’s not uncommon to order something from his restaurant only for him to come back and sadly inform us that they are “out” of said item.

Then the other day, he happened upon a clipboard that I wasn’t using. He put a piece of paper in it, got a crayon and set up his own little desk in the kitchen. (The recycling bin is his desk and a cooler that is sitting beside it is his chair.) We even made a “name plate” for him and taped it to the desk.

So, I’m sitting at my desk, working on the computer when he comes up to me with his clipboard and asks me what I have on his “menu”. Since I’m used to the restaurant game, I start ordering food. “No, not food Mommy! What do you have? Aches, pains, chills, headache, hot flashes?”

Hot flashes? Did he really just say hot flashes?

Apparently we’re now playing doctor! He gave me his “card” with his phone number on it and a phone (wooden block) to call him at the hospital whenever I needed him. So every few minutes I would pick up my phone (wooden block) and dial his office to complain of an ailment. Fortunately, this doctor makes house calls and is actually a miracle worker because each of my diseases and sufferings were immediately cured by either an imaginary pill or what may possibly have been a voodoo hex. But since I still have only one head, none of my toes have fallen off and my eyes aren’t orange, I pretty sure that was all just make believe!

Though I’m still puzzled over the hot flashes.

2 Comments

Filed under by Malia, kids & family, parenting, The GMan

2 responses to “A Menu of Ailments

  1. You & GMan make quite a pair!! :o)

  2. Pingback: I am Blissfully Domestic - a Blissful Kids story « live. laugh. love.

Leave a Reply

