My Lent: Part Three

glamour MaliaI was expecting something a little more profound.

There’s more to this Lent observance than just not doing something for 40 days. I have a lot to learn. I’ll confess that this has been more of an exercise in self-control for me rather than an exercise in faith.

But perhaps the two are linked? I hope so. I’d really like to come away from this experience with something more than…the knowledge of that I stuck to my vow. And perhaps that in and of itself is profound?

I do hope so.

2 Comments

Filed under by Malia, religion

2 responses to “My Lent: Part Three

  1. While I am not of the Catholic religion and I do not practice lent, I believe if you take the time for reflection on the meaning of it, you should come out of it perhaps enlightened? In my Faith we practice fasting by means of denying ourselves food for a certain period of time for reflection, prayer, and meditation…denying the flesh is what we do. Good luck to you. I think lent is a good practice!

  2. I think the two ate related. I agree that Lent is much like Protestant fasting.

Leave a Reply

