Good-bye Maddie

maddieI don’t even know how to write this post. I’m crying over the loss of a little girl I’ve never met. In fact, I’ve only known about her for a very short time.

Maddie’s mom is Heather. Heather was one of the two other brave souls, along with me,  to host real life ultimate blog parties in her home. She had the honor of being the first one. I sat in on a Skype meeting with Heather and Barbara Jones and others from 5 Minutes for Mom before and during Heather’s party.

I’d never read Heather blog before then or followed her on Twitter, but I have been for the last few weeks.

The first thing you notice on Heather’s blog is a very cute picture of her daughter Maddie in a March of Dimes widget. Heather’s pregnancy was complicated and Maddie’s birth was extraordinary. She wasn’t really expected to live…but she did! She had some health problems but she was thriving child.

And now she’s gone.

I noticed a couple days ago on Twitter some tweets about Maddie being sick and in the hospital. There was a picture of her hooked up to tubes and monitors. I kept thinking that everything would be OK. She’d pull through whatever it was that made her sick. And then the work got around last night that she did not pull through.

I’m not sure why this has affected me so profoundly. Maybe it’s just my current mental state, coming through a round of seasonal depression, feeling so hopeful and then hearing gut wrenching, awful news like that. Maybe it’s something else entirely.

All I know is there is a mother and father this morning without the child they that fought so hard for to bring into this world.

My heart screams “WHY?” and “IT’S NOT FAIR!!!!”

My soul is at least a bit comforted by the response I’ve seen to this horrible loss. People everywhere offering condolences and donating to the March of Dimes per Maddie’s parent’s request.

Rest in peace, sweet Maddie. You’ll be missed more than you could possibly ever know.

Update: This post from Tanis (Redneck Mommy) is the most beautiful, heartbreaking thing I’ve read. I just had to share it with you.

22 Comments

Filed under by Malia, parenting

22 responses to “Good-bye Maddie

  1. It isn’t fair at all. This is like a bad dream.

  2. It is just horrible and heart wrenching, and I don’t even know them except to visit her blog once or twice. Things like this sure do lend perspective, don’t they?

  3. What an adorable little girl – hard to imagine that she is even sick from the picture. So looks so full of life.

    So sorry to hear this. The loss of a child is always a sad thing to hear.

    My thoughts and prayers are with her and her family.

  4. Thanks for your post. Heathers site is down. It is amazing how just meeting someone in a stuck elevator and never really knowing them or their child other than the internet can have such a profound effect on us. I too sit here with tears streaming down my face.

  5. Well said. I wish it didn’t have to be said, but since it did you did it beautifully.

    Much love being sent out to Heather & Mike & family right now.

  6. Unimaginable :(.

    Thankful for the sweet responses of many, though…. Praying for them….
    :(

  7. Great post Malia. I met Heather at BlissDom and then was stuck in the elevator with her. But still, I didn’t really know her…yet I was praying SO HARD for Maddie last night, desperately. Because Heather’s a MOM, and so am I. And this morning I too cried and screamed “it’s not fair”!!! Because it isn’t.

  8. I had sweet Maddie on my mind all day yesterday. I could not stop thinking about her and I’ve never met them.

    I just cannot imagine losing a child. It would be devasating.

  9. Oh it’s heart wrenching. Because who among us hasn’t gone rushing to the ER. Consoling ourselves that the Doc’s will make it better. To have such a horrible ending is unimaginable. It’s shaken me up too.

  10. I just read about it a few hours ago. I spent time reading her blog, praying, crying and calling out to God. I don’t understand. At all.

  11. Amy

    Oh, I am so sad to read this! I didn’t know this family, but my heart breaks for the loss that this family has suffered. I will be praying for them and thank you for posting about this!

  12. This is such a sad event. My prayers and thoughts are with Heather and her family!

  13. I just “got to know” Maddie and Heather last night after I saw a tweet asking for prayers. I read the story of her miraculous birth. This morning when I went back on the computer and refreshed the blog to look for updates, I was saddened to see the news of her passing. My prayers go out to the family.

  14. HBMomof

    Thank you for posting. You summarized my feelings exactly. I have only known Heather through Twitter and to watch this story unfold has been devastating. I know I am hugging my children a little tighter today because of her loss. Many thoughts and prayers for Heather and loved ones.

  15. geminigirl64

    this just kills me. I love this family with all my heart.

  16. So sad. :( She looks exactly like the Gerber baby!

  17. This is just very very sad, I found out about this this morning and have not stopped thinking about Heather. I’m so very very sad and will be praying for them.

  18. The support being shown for Maddie and her parents makes my heart a wee lighter today.

    Thank you for that. For helping.

  19. Well put. Tragedy, unfortunately, is one of the best uniters of people. Good will come out of this senselessness.

  20. Thank you for sharing this. I think we’re all crushed by Maddie’s passing and we ache for Heather and Mike. I count my baby and grandbaby blessings every day.

Leave a Reply

