More From the CSA Files

We’re a little over a month into our CSA season. I am getting better about either using or giving away the produce that we get each week. It’s quite a challenge because right now, in the midst of the growing season, our weekly “share” seems to get bigger each week! Unfortunately, there’s a lot coming through that our family just isn’t interested in. Beets and celery mainly. And I keep getting these good sized onions as well. I use onion, just not that much! Fortunately, onion keeps pretty well for awhile.

There have a been a few successes though. For instance, the other night I made a side dish to accompany our evening meal made entirely from CSA produce. It was really tasty and everyone liked it! We had received a half pound of green beans and five small red-skinned potatoes. Separately, not enough to feed the family but when put together with some onion and seasoned with some fresh oregano it was a plentiful side dish! (Many thanks to my mother-in-law for inspiring that recipe!)

I’ve used some spearmint to make a yummy fruit tea that received rave reviews and some bibb lettuce to make a salad that David and I devoured. Bibb lettuce, bacon, boiled egg and homemade blue cheese dressing. (Tonguegasmic as we like to say!) I’ve also done a Leek-y Chicken skillet dish (a Rachael Ray recipe) using leeks that we received. I have more leeks and will be repeating that dish since it was fairly well received by the family. (I make an alternate “chicken” dish for JBelle and GMan ends up just eating the chicken and pushing the leeks around his plate. lol) I got more rhubarb last week and made another upside down cake for the 4th of July. My sister-in-law, who grew up eating rhubarb delicacies, thought it was delicious!

We got 3 cucumbers that would be perfect for pickling, so we need to find a fairly simple recipe for pickling so that those can be used as well. We get carrots fairly often, too. They’re small but pretty tasty.

IMG_3803

I never got around to taking a picture of the final product. Oops!

I made coleslaw, from scratch(!), using a head of cabbage from our share. My prior experience with making coleslaw consisted of buying a bag of coleslaw veggies and a jar of coleslaw dressing and mixing them together. Making it myself was much more satisfying albeit tedious. (I made sure to loudly express my desire for a food processor to my family members who partook of the coleslaw.) I perused several recipes looking for one that used only ingredients that I had on hand (basically vinegar or apple cider vingear, oil and seasonings.) I admit I was quite taken with this bleu cheese coleslaw recipe from the Barefoot Contessa but that will have to wait for another time! I ended up just adding apple cider vinegar, olive oil and salt and pepper to the cabbages and carrots (from the grocer, not the CSA) and letting it set in the fridge overnight. It turned out well, and received compliments at dinner that night though I think it could be improved upon. (And my hearty thanks to Heather for telling me how to prepare the cabbage!)

5 Comments

Filed under life as a domestic goddess, link love

5 responses to “More From the CSA Files

  1. Sounds like you are doing well at using all of your stuff! My only suggestion is if you find a week where you just don’t use it, make some vegetable broth. I had some celery, carrots, mushrooms and a couple of odds and ends that were at the point of throwing away but I put them in a pot with an onion and simmered for a couple of hours with water. I ended up with 12 cups of vegetable broth that I froze to use later in soups or when making rice or whatever. (Inspired by another blogger…strangely it had never occurred to me but it is a brilliant idea to avoid wasting veggies.)

    • Malia

      I saw where you tweeted that and it is a brilliant idea. I’ve been using vegetable broth instead of chicken because of Julia’s vegetarianism. That could certainly help with using up the veggies!

      • If you blanch celery before freezing it, it will keep for up to a year. Now, it won’t be suitable for recipes calling for fresh celery, but it’s perfect for soups, stews, casseroles, or dressing (stuffing if you must call it that).

        Thanks for the shout out. ;)

  2. I’ve made that Rachael Ray recipe! When I sent my husband to the store to get ingredients, he didn’t know where to find the leeks!

    • Malia

      That leek-y chicken recipe is SO good! My husband and I both really enjoy it. I made it again tonight for dinner. I do want to expand my leek recipe repertoire though. Next week I’m trying out a leek & squash with pasta recipe. We’ll see how well that goes over!

Leave a Reply

