Crunchy Caramel Apple Pie

Photobucket
There are several dishes that I make every year that announce the arrival of Autumn. One of them is crunchy caramel apple pie. I get entirely too much credit for this dish but that’s because it’s just so amazingly yummy!

I came across this pie recipe a several years ago while watching Good Morning America. Emeril Lagasse was hosting an “Apple Pie of Emeril’s Eye” contest. People from all over submitted apple pie recipes that were judged by Emeril. This particular apple pie was the winning recipe.

I had not been much of a pie maker before encountering this recipe. Cookies, brownies, cakes, banana/pumpkin bread, etc were where my baking talents had been focused. But this pie sounded rather appealing and really not all that difficult to make. The woman who submitted the recipe even said that she usually used store bought crust! I was all over that (well until recently!) I printed off the recipe and gave it a go. And I’ve never looked at another apple recipe!

The recipe combines the best of apple pie and apple crisp. In fact, when I don’t have (or don’t want to make) pie crust, it easily adapts into a crisp (just put in a baking dish instead of a pie shell.) It’s crowning glory are the pecans and drizzled caramel that are added just after taking the pie/crisp out of the oven. I always, always get compliments when I make this pie. There are even some members of our Life Group who specifically request that I make this pie for our Life Group Thanksgiving meal.

Crunchy Caramel Apple Pie

Ingredients:

  • 1 pastry crust for a deep-dish pie, 9-inch (homemade or store bought)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 T all-purpose flour
  • 1 t ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 t salt
  • 6 cups thinly sliced, peeled apples (Golden delicious, fuji, gala and granny smith, alone or in combination, make great pies. I generally use what I have on hand.)
  • 1 recipe crumb topping (see below)
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • 1/4 cup caramel topping (I use Smuckers caramel ice cream topping)

Ingredients for Crumb Topping:

  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup quick cooking rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup butter

Directions for Crumb Topping:

  1. Stir together brown sugar, flour and oats.
  2. Cut in butter until topping is like course crumbs. Set aside.

Directions:

  1. In a large mixing bowl, stir together the sugar, flour, cinnamon and salt.
  2. Add apple slices and gently toss until coated.
  3. Transfer apple mixture to the pie shell.
  4. Sprinkle crumb topping over apple mixture
  5. Place pie on a cookie sheet so the drippings don’t drop into your oven.
  6. Cover edges of pie with aluminum foil.
  7. Bake in a preheated 375 oven for 25 minutes. Remove foil and put back in for another 25 to 30 minutes.
  8. Remove from oven. Sprinkle pie with chopped pecans then drizzle with caramel.
  9. Cool on a wire rack and enjoy warm or at room temp. (Even better with vanilla ice cream!)

applecrisp

This is a terrible picture but it’s all I have! I made this yesterday for Life Group but completely forgot the nuts and caramel topping. It was still tonguegasmic!!

8 Comments

Filed under life as a domestic goddess

8 responses to “Crunchy Caramel Apple Pie

  1. This looks SO good Malia! I love the apples and caramel combo.

  2. Good to know it’s still good without the nuts (I have to omit those due to allergies). I agree with your caption — nothing says fall like apple crisp/pie :)

  3. YUMMMMY! I am inspired to bake!

  4. That looks and sounds wonderful! My birthday is at the end of the month and we are having some friends over. And that pie is what I’m making!!!

    Thanks for sharing the recipe.

  5. Thanks. I sent your link to my daughter. She’s the baker in the family. :O)

  6. Tasha

    Hey, I remember that pie winning and I made it too. It truly is the best apple pie I have ever had, I’m making it for Thanksgiving this year. I’ve probably gotten more compliments on that pie than any others I can think of. I can’t wait to make it like an apple crisp now though.

  7. Pingback: mile-high caramel apple pie | Pie Recipes

Leave a Reply

