What happens when a Type-B Mom attends a Type-A Mom conference?

type a mom conferenceOK, that is a blog post title FAIL because I have no punchline for it!

Maybe I’ll come up with one by the time I finish this post. (Nope…not gonna happen as I’ve been trying to finish this post for 2 weeks! Oh, well!)

True Type-A personalities would have been hyperventilating at this conference. The schedule was often fudged, the dress code was lax, the discussions were sometimes messy, the tables were pretty much always messy and the participants (read: bloggers) don’t always like to follow “teh rulez”. So pretty much, it was a perfect fit for me who is so not a type-a personality!

What was “type-a” about it is how efficiently it was planned and how well it was run and organized. Major props, kudos and congratulations to the woman of the hour, Kelby Carr, for putting on a fabulous conference!

Me with Cassie & Nancy (Nancy works for iRobot, makers of the super cool Roomba!)

Me with Cassie & Nancy (Nancy works for iRobot, makers of the super cool Roomba!) Picture from Mishelle Lane

So why would a type-b attend a type-a conference? Because it wasn’t about personality traits or neurosis, it was about growing as a writer, learning new techniques, finding your voice, reconnecting with friends, understanding the ideas and opinions of others, embracing each others differences, picking up a new trick or two, and branching out from four walls to touch a little bit more of humanity.

DSC_5332

Me with the amazing Robin & the fabulous Sugar!

This past February, I attended the BlissDom conference and met some really fabulous people. But, I was mostly a wallflower. I have a really hard time walking up to someone, putting my hand out and saying, “Hi! I’m Malia.” I would much rather stand up in front of everyone as a speaker and address the entire crowd than to interact one on one. I’m just a little neurotic like that. In light of that neurosis, I made myself introduce myself to more people at this conference. And guess what? People were nice! They didn’t bite! They didn’t look at me like I have two heads and then turn walk away! Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t easy. It meant I spent most of each day with sweaty palms and feeling rather queasy! But, I did it, go me!

IMG_7406_resizeAnd then there was the post conference meltdown. It was an internal meltdown where I started doubting myself, my abilities, my worth, my credentials, and my justification for being at such a conference. Yes, I have a problem with confidence. I always have. I hope that by continuing on with blogging and attending conferences and putting myself out there, I can eventually grow to be the confident woman that others tell me they see.

But all in all, I absolutely enjoyed myself! I met bloggers that I admire, I reconnected with bloggers that I’ve met before and rejuvenated our relationships.

iblogwsis250I must take this opportunity to thank my sponsor. Without them, I could not have attended. So a BIG thank you to The Sister Project for selecting me as a scholarship winner in the “You know you’re a sister when…” writing contest. I was honored to represent you and humbled to be among such an amazing, lovely group of writers.

A few highlights of the conference were:

  • the Asheville Photowalk led by my dear friend, Mishelle Lane. (My favorite picks of the shots I took on the walk are on my Flickr page.)
  • the speaker dinner with the Room 704 girls. I’m a big admirer of these ladies and spending an evening with them and Thai food and wine was pure bliss.
  • the Blogger Town Hall meeting where we were able to speak our minds and discuss issues that involve all of us was pure genius.
  • an impromptu party at a certain chick‘s villa that will bring smiles and giggles when I think about it for years to come!
  • my a-mazing roommates, Heather & Kathy! Having good roommates makes a conference very enjoyable and I’m glad we got the weekend to be together and reconnect.
meheatherkathy

Me & my uber cool roomies!

If you are a blogger and you’ve ever wondered about attending a conference, I’d encourage you to think now about attending either Type-A next year or the upcoming BlissDom conference in February, or both! You will learn a lot, meet so many wonderful people and have fun along the way.

8 Comments

Filed under I blog they blog wouldn't you like to be a blogger too?, link love

8 responses to “What happens when a Type-B Mom attends a Type-A Mom conference?

  1. Great recap! I am glad you finally published it. I would never have guessed you were nervous about meeting people. What you had to say about being a type b person at the type a conference is so true too, it worked much better for my type b personality to not have to be married to the schedule :) Im so glad I met you!

    • Malia

      Thanks Frelle! I loved meeting on you in person after following (or is it stalking, lol) you on Twitter! I can’t sit still and pay attention long enough to be married to a schedule, so I kinda have to do my own thing from time to time to make sure I can concentrate when I know I’m really going to want to.

  2. It was so awesome that YOU wanted to eat with US!!!

    As a fellow Type-B (seriously. Ppl I know “IRL” were like YOU??? Going to a thing called TYPE-A??!?!? WHA? lol) I applaud your moxie for makin it work for you.

    Also? For actually getting this post up. I still haven’t done mine. LOL

    xoxo

  3. Looks like you had an awesome time Malia!

    p.s. glad you finally got it up…

    OK OK bad bad joke. ;)

  4. I am so much a Type-A Mom impersonator.

    Loved your post!! :)

  5. Sounds like fun! I always have so much fun at conferences – sad I won’t be at Blissdom this year but I’ll definitely plan to attend another in the future. And then you can school me on the whole putting myself out there more thing. :)

  6. Pingback: Houston – we have a problem! | Army Household6

  7. Pingback: Type-A Mom Conference Recap Roundup

Leave a Reply

