Braised Bok Choy with Peanuts

bokchoyleavesThe CSA adventures continue. Another completely new vegetable to me has been bok choy. I’ve heard of bok choy. I may have consumed bok choy at some point though I can’t be certain. I know I’ve never cooked with it before which means I didn’t really know what to do with it.

I sent up the Twitter signal (something along the lines of “what the heck do I do with this thing?”) and all the replies that came back were “stir fry”. OK, sounded simple enough.

Next step was Google. I searched bok choy recipes and perused several before settling on a combination of two recipes:

Braised Bok Choy & Baby Bok Choy with Cashews

But before I could cook it, I needed to know how to prepare it. I went back to Google and found this video tutorial on YouTube:

Now that shows you want to do with the white, crunchy part but what about the green leafy part? Basically you just chop that part, as well, into bite sized pieces. And when cooking it, add the white part to the pan first because it takes longer to cook. You’ll just want the greens to wilt a bit.

Here’s what used & how I cooked it:

Ingredients

  • 1 Tbsp. canola oil
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 tsp. grated fresh ginger
  • 3/4 pound to 1 pound bok choy or baby bok choy, washed and trimmed
  • 1/4 cup vegetable broth
  • 2 Tbsp. minced garlic
  • 1 Tbsp. soy sauce
  • 1 Tbsp. brown sugar
  • ~ 1/2 cup lightly salted peanuts

Directions

  1. Heat the canola oil and olive oil in a large skillet or wok over medium heat. Add grated ginger and cook 1 to 2 minutes, until ginger perfumes the oil.
  2. Add the white bok choy pieces to the skillet. Stir fry for a 2-3 minutes until they become tender but not mushy, then add the greens. Allow them to wilt and turn bright green.
  3. Remove bok choy to a serving plate.
  4. Add broth, garlic, soy sauce and brown sugar to the pan. Cook another 2 minutes or so to allow flavors to meld.
  5. Pour over bok choy. Toss with peanuts. Serve immediately.

bokchoystirfry

This was really delicious! I was quite pleased with how it turned out and I’m looking forward to making it again. DB gave it a hearty endorsement (he practically licked the plate) and the kids…looked at me like I had two heads. But that was about what I expected so no surprise there.

I pan fried some slices of polenta and poured some of the sauce from the stir fry over that as well. It was a filling, satisfying meal.

If you look at the recipe links you’ll see they call for sesame oil, which I didn’t have on hand, so I substituted the olive oil. One of them calls for oyster sauce (?). Didn’t have that either, so I omitted it. And I didn’t have cashews but I did have peanuts so that’s what I used there. Apparently, you can do that kind of thing with bok choy.

My friend Brittney sent me this link about bok choy: Five Way to Eat Bok Choy – a good tool for figuring out what to do bok choy!

Updated – Take a look at what Tracy did with this recipe. Yum!

Photobucket and fearless-fridays

3 Comments

Filed under life as a domestic goddess

3 responses to “Braised Bok Choy with Peanuts

  1. Ramona

    Do you have a year round CSA? Ours is done for the winter. If you have a year round and you get rhubarb, I’m going to be so jealous, it will hurt. Actually, I will just be happy for you. That’s great!

  2. Alice

    Oo, this looks good. I also had oyster sauce in a fried rice recipe–and there it was at Kroger. It is like a pudding-thick soy sauce.

    mm–polenta! You’re the mama!

Leave a Reply

