Butternut Squash Soup

PhotobucketMy second foray into the world of winter squashes was making Butternut Squash Soup. I’ve never had Butternut Squash Soup before but after the yumminess of the lasagna, I was eager to try another recipe. I searched around the Internet until I came across this recipe on FoodNetwork.com by Alton Brown (love me some Alton Brown!) It looked really simple and very tasty! And sure enough, it was!

Ingredients I used:

  • 1 large, seeded butternut squash cut into 2-inch chunks (be sure to set aside the seeds)
  • Melted butter, for brushing
  • 1 tablespoon kosher salt, plus 1 teaspoon
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground white pepper, plus 1/2 teaspoon (I used black pepper)
  • 3 cups chicken or vegetable stock (I used vegetable)
  • 1 teaspoon minced ginger (2 -3 teaspoons would have been better!)
  • 4 ounces heavy cream
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

Directions

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

Peel the squash, cut it in half, seed it (save the seeds!) and then cut it into approximately 2-inch chunks. Brush melted butter on the chunks, sprinkle with sea salt and pepper and bake for approximately 20-25 minutes until fork tender and slightly browned.

Add the squash to a large pot with the stock and the ginger. Bring to a simmer and puree using a stick blender. (I don’t have a stick/immersion blender, so I had to transfer my squash mixture to a regular blender for this step. It was worth the extra effort and clean-up because you get a really smooth and creamy consistency by blending it.)

Stir in the heavy cream and return to a low simmer. Season with salt, pepper, and nutmeg.

While the soup is in it’s final simmer, rinse the saved seeds (you saved the seeds, right??), toss them with some olive oil, spread on a baking sheet and sprinkle with sea salt. Roast on 350 until slightly browned. After pouring the soup into bowls, sprinkle some seeds on top. The combination of the sweet soup and the salty seeds is…wait for it…tonguegasmic!

butternutsquashsoup

I served this soup with a Harvest Salad (lettuce from our CSA, apples [they were honeycrisps from Trader Joes, yum!], craisins, walnuts, blue cheese crumbles and a white vinaigrette dressing.)

I really liked the soup. DB said is was good, JBelle liked it, GMan said he liked it at first, then changed his mind (typical).

8 Comments

Filed under life as a domestic goddess

8 responses to “Butternut Squash Soup

  1. I have just copy and pasted this recipe to my desktop so I can make it. YUM!! Looks wonderful.

  2. Tracy

    Malia,
    I am psyched! I got a butter nut squash in my basket this week along with my yummy bok choy!
    Malia.. you ROCK! :-) I wish we lived closer so we could hang out and cook together.

    I’ll let you know how we liked it…

    • Malia

      That would be so fun! Too bad there are not any AFBs around here :(

      I hope y’all like the soup. You could serve it with grilled chicken or maybe BLTs for your carnivores! :)

  3. is this the same recipe you said you omitted the honey from on facebook?

  4. A GREAT!!! soup using butternut squash. I don’t have many recipes using butternut squash.
    Geri

Leave a Reply

