Holding Onto Autumn

November is a bit of a place holder between October’s Halloween and December’s Christmas. While November does hold the much anticipated and planned for Thanksgiving, the retailers (except possibly for the grocery stores) seemingly skip over it. And each year it seems that Christmas starts to edge out even Halloween bit by bit.

Over at Blissfully Domestic, we’re trying to savor this autumnal season just a bit longer before our hearts, minds and wallets turn towards Christmas. We’re hosting our first annual Fall Tour of Homes. If you’ve written a post about preparing your home for autumn or Thanksgiving or if you have a photo of a favorite wreath, tablescape, flower arrangement, or even your kid’s school craft projects; come on over and submit your link or photo. One lucky, fall loving person will get a nice prize (that could help out with that other upcoming holiday!)

I start decorating in September for autumn. A few weeks later, I add my Halloween items. After Halloween, those come down and the Thanksgiving items are set out. My favorite Thanksgiving decoration is my Pilgrim Family salt & pepper shakers from Publix. I’m especially fond of them because it’s a husband & wife and two kids, a girl & boy, just like us.

autumn deco collage

Also, I’m still in “mental snapshots” mode. Even though the fall colors have peaked, and many of the trees have lost most, if not all of their leaves; there is still a lot of gorgeous scenery to behold. I took these pictures last week at a friend’s house. They have the most gorgeous Maple tree in their front yard.

big tree

contrast

underneath

looking up

I took this picture while lying down underneath the tree and looking up into it. It is, to date, my most favorite picture I’ve taken.

 

4 Comments

Filed under Blissfully Domestic, I take pictures, life as a domestic goddess

4 responses to “Holding Onto Autumn

  1. I was tickled when you mentioned your Pilgrim Family salt and pepper shakers. I’ve always liked those. I’ve been loving your autumn tree and leaf photos. I’d like to participate in the Fall Tour of Homes. I’ll work on that.

  2. Kat

    Love the picture looking up into the tree. here are still so many colors. Very pretty!

    Oh, and good thing we don’t live close cause I would so pocket those pilgrims!

  3. The pictures are SO beautiful!

  4. Your photos are beautiful. You are VERY talented!

Leave a Reply

