my rant forum (and observations & memories)

Malia picture
I may update this post throughout the day. While watching the news coverage of yesterday’s tragedy, no Hokie can let some of the things that are being said go unchallenged. Some of it’s petty, all of it is my opinion and my experiences. But I need a place to say some of this stuff.

6. I didn’t get to watch much of the convocation. I did see the final few moments of President Bush’s speech. I had already pretty much changed my position on my earlier feelings about this before the time of the convocation, so I won’t bring much of that up. I pretty much figured that in situations like this politicians are damned if they do or damned if they don’t.

5. I have a very specific memory of West AJ from my freshman year at Virginia Tech. I’m debating whether or not to share it. In light of the recent events, it’s almost sick and twisted but still very funny and poignant for David and I. I’ll think about it some more before maybe posting it.

Here it is:

I was not a direct witness of this event, it was recounted to me later in the same evening. Our college group from church was involved in an intense game of “tag”. There were some specific rules regarding when and where you could tag a person. One was, you could not tag them within their residence hall. And once you are tagged, you are out. So, we’re down to the final few participants and one of the remaining players was hiding out in her dorm room in West AJ. The story goes that one of the players put a bag of microwave popcorn in one of the microwaves in West AJ (each floor had a kitchenette with a microwave in it), set the timer for like 10 minutes and waited. Sure enough after several minutes, the fire alarm went off. You absolutely must leave the residence hall in the event of a fire alarm, no excuses. The player was “smoked out” of her residence hall and promptly tagged.

4. The reason I was in Blacksburg this past weekend was for the 40th anniversary/reunion of Chi Delta Alpha, the service sorority that I was a member of while at Virginia Tech. I received an e-mail from the current president of the sorority, all sisters and pledges are accounted for, none of them were physically harmed yesterday. This was the one piece of information I was still waiting for and I feel immensely better knowing they are all “okay”. Praise God!!

3. I have some very pointed feelings about President and Mrs. Bush attending the convocation this afternoon but David has encouraged me to wait until after it’s over to say anything about it.

2. They, the media talking heads, keep telling everyone how quickly one can get from West Ambler Johnston (West AJ) to Norris Hall. Yes, it’s true that if you’re walking at a good clip, you can make it in 5-10 minutes depending on your speed. However, we don’t know what path the shooter took. There are several places he could have “hung out”, there are several paths he could have taken. Fact is, we will probably never know what he did in the two hours between the West AJ shootings and the Norris Hall shootings. So stop assuming that he went directly from West AJ to Norris Hall and that police should have been able to stop him. We just don’t know where he went or what he did in that time period.

1. The official name of that large university in Blacksburg, Virginia is Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, however it has for a long time now been known simply as Virginia Tech. NOT Virginia Tech University. Please stop putting “University” at the end. Nobody affiliated with the school adds “University” to the name. (David made a point of telling Amy Rao that yesterday afternoon.)
*This post originally appeared on my old blog. I figured that David and I would be talking more about Virginia Tech and the tragic events that occurred there, so I’ve brought the post from the old blog over here for the sake of continuity.

5 Comments

Filed under by Malia, Virginia Tech

5 responses to “my rant forum (and observations & memories)

  1. Lisa

    Ha. I found ya. Do you want me to delete the comment on my post that indicated you linked to it? (“pingback” I think it’s called?)

  2. Malia

    Nah. No worries. We’ll just call this a “soft opening”.
    😉

  3. Lisa

    Looks good, btw. 🙂

  4. Malia

    These are the comments that were left on this post at the old place:

    Comments:
    April 17, 2007 9:40 AM, Tanya said…
    I hear yah! I mentioned to Jonathan this morning, “isn’t it weird that they keep calling it Virginia Tech University.”

    April 17, 2007 9:50 AM, Anonymous said…
    I vote that we call them “talking faces”
    “talking heads” implies there might be some brain activity involved..

    hang in there, prayers are going up from all over the world.

    brian
    http://www.bpnblog.theobloggers.org

    April 17, 2007 9:51 AM, Katherine Coble said…
    Why am I drawn to read any post with the word “rant” in the title? I dunno, but I am.

    As far as rants go, these are very good ones. Because, honestly, it bugs me when reporters cover a story about a place and stand there seeming knowledgable but can’t even get the place-name right.

    There used to be an onscene reporter for one of the LOCAL networks who would always talk about things in my neighbourhood as having happened in Hermit-AHHGE. I was for ever yelling “Hermit-aidge” at the TV.

    I also hate it when reporters act like cops or lawyers.

    “Bob, if we retrace his route, it IS possible for the robber to have made it from the 7-11 to the Kroger in just under 9 minutes. Watch as my camera crew and I trace his route.”

    ARRRGH.

    April 17, 2007 10:14 AM, Tony Arnold said…
    I have prayed for the families, the students, and the administration through this.

    I get frustrated too when the second guessing begins immediately based on few facts and copious speculation.

    It proves that the media is only interested in sensationalism to drive up their profits and ratings. They are not much concerned with facts, truth, or focusing on the loss and the tragedy. Once the killer is dead, who can we go after next? Who should be blamed? Somebody had to do something wrong?

    What crap! A distrurbed person did a horrible thing. I am sure the school will learn from this ways to improve emergency management, but that doesn’t mean they should be lynched in the media immediately.

    The poor administration heads and the police leaders don’t have time to grieve. They are consummed by investigation and then forced to be on the defensive very quickly by parties that should keep their mouths shut and fingers still.

    And the poor families, what it does to them too.

    I am with you on the rant.

    April 17, 2007 10:19 AM, Petra said…
    Malia,
    This is so sad. I found out last night that you and David had gone there – I can’t imagine how hard this must be for you. I’m glad your friends and family are safe though. I’ll be keeping y’all and the other families/friends/students in my prayers.

    April 17, 2007 10:31 AM, Ivy said…
    I’ve been meaning to send you some hugs, and keep forgetting to commment with that. So, here you go. ***hugs***

    I am so sad that this happened.

    April 17, 2007 10:42 AM, Root’s Ramblings said…
    Even the day after, my heart still hurts as well – for you, the students & faculty, and all the alumni. In reading the Fresno Bee’s coverage this morning, I was glad to see many pictures of students praying. That’s a great sign that it’s a close community and most are reaching out to God for comfort and to make sense of it all. Here’s the link if you want to check it out.
    http://dwb.fresnobee.com/24hour/front/story/3600198p-12876407c.html

    Still praying!!! 🙂

    April 17, 2007 10:47 AM, lisa leichner said…
    It seems that ranting is a common thing to see today. I should have used that word. 🙂 Hope you two are doing well. Things feel calmer today, yet still completely upturned and chaotic at the same time.

    April 17, 2007 3:09 PM, Linda said…
    While flipping through the channels this morning, I caught the last second of you on channel 5. I can’t imagine what the past couple of days have been like for you. I’m glad your loved ones are safe, and my heart goes out to the victims and their families.

    April 17, 2007 10:30 PM, lisa leichner said…
    Your comments on Bush speaking at the convocation sum up what I think too. I would expect him to want to go and would hope he would want to do that. Though, of course, it’s annoying when politicians or celebrities do things because of what their ratings will do. BUT, like you said, he would have been criticized whether or not he went.
    Your West AJ story is hilarious. What a clever person to think of the popcorn setting off the fire alarm.

    April 17, 2007 10:44 PM, Ellyn said…
    My rant is the media–they are screwing things up! They clearly think we are stupid people. They are speculating and putting dumb and unnecessary ideas into the publics’ minds.

    Of course President Bush would come. Any President would. They did at Columbine, Ok City, etc. The bigger eyebrow raising thing would have been if Hillary or Obama or McCain or Guliani showed up…THEN that is for political gain…not Bush he’s gone–his numbers don’t really matter anymore.

    April 17, 2007 10:54 PM, ‘Coma said…
    All I can do is offer a hug and light a candle because I know this much be difficult.
    And if you want to see Nikki Giovanni’s speech, it up in it’s entirety at CNN.

  5. OK, I just have to say I love the microwave/tag story. That is pretty funny!

Leave a Reply

