In the works

Malia pictureWe’ve been uninspired as of late to post anything blogworthy. Such is bloglife I guess. We do have a new “He Said/She Said” in draft mode. Pretty much all it lacks is, well, actual content. And I’m working on another marriage post. It’s currently on paper and in my head.

The housebreaking is still a challenge. Ginny seems to potty on the floor once a day. But no more than that and today it was actually on hard flooring. On our main living level there is only one room that is carpeted, the rest are hardwood, linoleum or tile. Which room has she preferred to do her business in? The carpeted one of course since it’s the hardest to clean up! Ginny also likes being outside and will signal to “go out” when she just wants to be out, not just because she needs to be out. I’d like to leave her in the backyard for awhile each day, but she doesn’t seem to be ready to be out there all by herself. Plus I don’t want her to tear up the garden. So…lots of trips out doors, some productive, others not so much!

The GMan is another story. He simply will not leave the dog alone. No matter what I do, no matter what I say, no matter what punishment I dole out, he goes right back to bothering her. So far, she hasn’t lashed out at him but I fear that one of these days, sooner or later, she’s gonna get annoyed with him and let him know she really doesn’t want to be bothered all the time. I really hope it doesn’t happen but it seems inevitable. I’m at my wits end with him. I just don’t know how to make him understand that she needs her space.

We’re gearing up for JBelle’s 7th birthday at the end of this month. Party plans coming together, invitations to go out, presents to buy. I asked her today what she wanted for her birthday. She came up with a really neat list for an almost seven-year-old. For example: a fuzzy, white bathrobe with her initials on it, a bubble machine, modeling clay & books about dinosaurs. And of course clothes – she is my child after all! I’ve got Heather working on an ice cream cake recipe for me. So nice to have home mavens at my beckon call to tell me how to get pet stains off my carpet and how to create the perfect ice cream cake.

7 Comments

Filed under by Malia, kids & family, random

7 responses to “In the works

  1. We had a really difficult time training our female dog, but we adopted her from the Nashville Humane Assoc. and she already came with a steamer trunk of emotional “baggage.”

    FINALLY crate training worked. Our vet told us about it as did a co-worker. It definitely worked if you decide to go that route!

    Miss C’s 5th birthday is in June and it is all she talks about! I refuse to do Chuck E. Rat so I am racking my brain for something else (as in cheaper and less commercial) that she will like. Good luck with the cake! I can’t help you there! 😉

  2. Malia

    David has suggested the crate training as well. I wasn’t sure if it was too late to try with her or not. She’s almost 3 months old, she was “going” outdoors at Rob & Carrie’s place and she’s getting used to being apart of our household. I guess if we’re still in this mode at her next appt (next week), I’ll ask the vet about it.

    Thanks for your input!!

  3. Lisa

    Our dog is a really nice dog most of the time, and she’d never bite anyone who’s being nice to her, but each of our boys has gotten a little nip once for playing with her tail or chasing her around. All it took was that one little nip and they learned. Not that I advocate letting GMan mess with the dog and learning the lesson on his own, but … well, it worked with our boys.

    As far as an ice cream cake, I have a really easy recipe using ice cream sandwiches if you want it. My oldest doesn’t really care for cake, but loves ice cream, so that’s what he wanted for his birthday. If you want the recipe, let me know.

  4. I advocating letting GMan learn the lesson on his own. Be sure he’s not hurting the puppy, but eventually, he’ll learn that puppies don’t like to be mauled all over. It took one scratch from our cats to teach Megs about mauling.

  5. The recipe that Lisa is talking about is WAY yummy! I made her give me the recipe 🙂

  6. I got the supplies to put together your cake today. That’ll be my project when the kidlets are in bed. I don’t want them hovering for this one.

  7. Tracy

    Malia,
    Put alittle bit of plain seltzer water on the carpet where the pet stain is. Not soaking or saturated, just wet. Then take a white hand towel/wash cloth and place over the spot. Take your iron on put it on the hottest setting with NO STEAM. “iron” over the spot. Just for 20 seconds or so moving your iron over the towel as if you were ironing. Make sure you don’t keep it on too long or keep it in the same place or it could scorch your carpet. It will lift the stain (sight and smell) out and onto the white towel. Keep repeating until the stain is gone. Use a new towel each time you treat the carpet. You will RUIN your iron, so you’ll need to get a new one for your clothes. Designate the iron your “puppy iron.”

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

