Weather Dunce

I am clueless about the whys and hows of weather. Fortunately, I married a weather “nerd” who is kind and patient enough to explain things to me. Sometimes, I even get graphics!

img_1251.jpg

This is a drawing done on our back porch (using sidewalk chalk) of the Bermuda High syndrome.

Let’s see if I learned anything…there’s an area of high pressure that sits in the Atlantic ocean over Bermuda (Bermuda is that “dot” by the big “H”). The high pressure area turns clockwise. When storms (low pressure areas) head our direction, they are turning counter clockwise. When the low pressure area meets the Bermuda High pressure area, the low pressure area sort of “bounces off” the high pressure and moves over it sending storms (rain) above us, to the north and east. So areas like Missouri (the “box” next to the big “L”) get lots of rain and lots of flooding, while we get nothin’.

(Yes, that’s my toe, somewhere down near Honduras…I think. I’m also really bad with geography!)

Update: I e-mailed this graphic to the News2 weather blog, Nashville WX, last night. That cutie patootie, Justin Bruce, put it up on a post over there today!

9 Comments

Filed under by Malia, random

9 responses to “Weather Dunce

  1. Malia

    Oh yeah…we actually got a bit of rain about 1/2 an hour or so after I took the picture of the “weather graphic”! Not much, but it was better than nothin’!

  2. It just looks like a big blue fish to me. 😉

  3. David needs to lean how to speak in fron of a blue screen, and go work for channel 4. Much better than the Panic Sisters.

  4. Lisa

    the Panic Sisters?

  5. Malia

    He’s referring to the two female weatherpersons at our local NBC affliate WSMV (Channel 4). Lisa Spencer and Nancy Van Camp are notorious for being overly dramatic during severe weather updates/reporting.

  6. I would TOTALLY do the weather for Channel 4. I love the weather….it would probably be more like Phil Connors though “uh oh look out, this big BLUE thing is headed our way!!”

  7. Lisa

    that’s funny. 🙂

  8. David

    Oh, and if I had known Malia would email it Justin, I would have spent more than two seconds drawing it…..it’s not exactly anywhere near to scale.

  9. Just getting caught up on the blog (been traveling and updating my blog but hadn’t had much chance to read others). I love David’s drawing – and how cool the weather guy put it up!? 🙂

Leave a Reply

