New Year’s…

Reso-maybe-I’ll-try-to-possibly-set-some-goals-lutions

oc-christmas-025_crop2.jpgI do love new beginnings. The potential held with the start of a new year is inspiring and motivating. Last year I remember wanting to be better at finishing projects that I start. The result? I didn’t start very many new projects. That way, I didn’t have to worry about not finishing them! I think Shauna is on the right track of thinking regarding a new start and goals. I’m going to take a page from her book blog and list out some things I’d like to be better at this year.

I will get healthier. I will not be watching the scale or measuring my waistline. Instead I will build on the “habit” I started last year of regular exercise. (I say “habit” because I don’t think that exercise will ever become a true habit for me. Every MWF I must talk myself into going to water aerobics and I’m easily swayed from it at the slightest excuse to not go.) While my three-day-a-week class has not resulted in any significant weight loss, I have felt better these last several months and I’d like to see how much better I can feel with a couple more changes.

I will be a better parent. Less yelling. Less laters. Less yelling. Less not nows. Less television. And, less yelling.

I will learn a new skill. Also like Shauna, I’m intrigued with sewing. But it may be something entirely different. I just got a new camera, I’d like to learn more about photography (as a hobby). Or maybe take a dance class. Something challenging, something fun.

I will spend more time outdoors. I won’t let extreme cold or extreme heat or rain keep me huddled within the walls of my house. I’d like to get out for at least thirty minutes a day. (Maybe a bit less in extreme cold, extreme heat and rain!)

I have another one in mind that I won’t list here. If I actually accomplish it, I’ll let you know.

Happy New Year to you. Many blessings for 2008. I hope that whether or not you resolve, you will find yourself in a better place a year from now just by the sheer fact you’ve lived another year on Earth.

May the Lord bless you and keep, may His face shine upon you and give you peace.

2 Comments

Filed under by Malia, life as a domestic goddess, musings

2 responses to “New Year’s…

  1. I’m very curious about your secret mystery goal. I wonder if it’s the same as mine. Hmm…

  2. Sheryl

    Good goals! Tell me what your secret to keeping them. I’m also curious what that secret goal is. I comment you for not ‘watching the scale’ and really look to be a healthier you. You do look great, by the way and I love the glasses! 🙂 I still have a little bit of baby weight to get off and getting back to the gym will be tough now with a little one. As Ty gets older, I too will be trying to motivate myself to get out more and watch less tv.
    Good luck with yours.
    I know 2008 will be a great one!!

Leave a Reply

