Spam, wonderful Spam

You know you’ve waited your whole life to see a singing can of Spam:

oc-christmas-025_crop2.jpgOh. You want to know the story behind the singing can of Spam? Here goes…

spamalot.jpgMy Christmas gift to DB this year was a pair of tickets to see Monty Python’s Spamalot. I was really excited about the gift because he’s a little difficult to buy gifts for since he really doesn’t want “stuff”. And the arts (musicals, plays, symphony, concerts) are something we really enjoy, especially when we can go together! But this was for Spamalot. This gift required more than a pretty, gift wrapped box or a gilded envelope. This gift needed presentation!

I don’t remember exactly how the idea came to me but I was, nonetheless, inspired. My first thought was the recording of the Spam song and somehow getting it to play when he opened his gift. Then the idea of putting the tickets into a can of Spam (sans Spam, like you really had to ask!) with the song playing was even more brilliant, if I do say so myself.

Many thanks to Phil and my father-in-law for helping me turn my inspiration into reality.

1 Comment

Filed under by Malia, life as a domestic goddess, love & marriage

One response to “Spam, wonderful Spam

  1. erinlcox

    Awesome! Tim and I saw Spamalot in DC a couple years ago and it was great. By far the funniest show I’ve seen and I’ve seen lots. The only bad part was the annoying girl in front of us who felt the need to sing all the songs at the top of her lungs. If I had had a dart gun, she’d been a goner. 🙂 Hope you guys enjoy the show.

Leave a Reply

