Both

my faceHere’s another JBelle story.

Back when JBelle was in preschool, there was a gas station/convenience store across the street from her school. It was affectionately known to the preschool and Kindergarten kids as, “The Purple Cow”. (There’s a long history to that name that I don’t know enough of to reiterate here.) The Purple Cow was a popular afterschool hang-out for the five and under crowd because it sold the preschooler cocktail of choice, The Icee. The rule in our family was, “one Purple Cow stop a week.” When she was in two day preschool, that usually ended up being Thursdays and during three day preschool years and Kindergarten, it was our Friday afternoon treat. We would head in with Icees on the brain only to be waylayed by Krispy Kreme donuts. The Purple Cow got a delivery of Krispy Kreme donuts every morning and they were set out just in front of the Icee machine. There were usually a few left by the time the kids were let out from school. Now my preschooler had a rather serious dilemma. Icee or donut? At first, I made her choose. “You can have one or the other but not both”, I would tell her. Then one day I guess I was feeling free-spirited and generous and I let her get both. Well, that decision proved difficult the reverse and also put a crimp in my pocketbook. From there on out she would say, “We’re going to The Purple Cow and I’m going to get both!” And so she did.

3 Comments

Filed under by Malia, JBelle

3 responses to “Both

  1. Tom

    Given those choices I would have to take the Krispy Kreme donut. Here in NJ we are far from a source of the fresh hot scrumptious, tasty, delectable, mouth-watering wonder that is a KKD when the “Baking Now” light is on. When looking at those golden round light and fluffy angelic delicacies, my question would be, “What’s an Icee?”

    Tom

  2. When I was working as a maid, we stopped at the Purple Cow nearly every day. Thanks for the memories. 🙂

Leave a Reply

