How Arthur Changed My Life

Yes, Arthur, originally created by Marc Brown as a book series and now a popular children’s television program on PBS. Here’s how it happened. I’m sitting in the living room with GMan sipping my coffee and trying to wake-up (I’ve a bit of allergy/head cold thing going on). GMan’s watching Arthur and today’s episode is how one of the characters (the kid with the horns, can’t remember his name) discovers Blues music and is introduced to Koko Taylor by someone in their town. And I’m like Koko who? Yeah, that’s right, up until this morning I didn’t really know who Koko Taylor is. ::Hangs head in shame:: Turns out I’m familiar with her music as she’s recorded lots of well known Blues tracks (I’m a Woman, Wang Dang Doodle, Mother Nature, etc, etc).

After the episode was over, I went to the computer, pulled up iTunes and searched for Koko Taylor. I download the Deluxe Edition: Koko Taylor which was released in 2002 (a greatest hits kind of album). Oh, my! This is such amazing music! I’ve always liked the Blues but I’ve never had any albums or followed any particular musician. My life is forever changed y’all! I love this album. I love Koko! Koko, where’ve ya been all my life?

Arthur: educational for children and adults. Who knew?

Well, I’m off to find Taj Mahal music, too. Another artist featured on today’s Arthur.

5 Comments

Filed under by Malia, kids & family, random, Uncategorized

5 responses to “How Arthur Changed My Life

  1. This makes me so happy, I can’t even begin to tell you. I might have to start watching Arthur myself.

  2. Start with “Dancin the Blues” http://www.amazon.com/Dancing-Blues-Taj-Mahal/dp/B0000000LE
    It’s full of fun oldies that you and GMan can dance around the kitchen to. Then go looking for some of his darker acoustic stuff. Remind me to tell you about seeing him and John Lee Hooker at Vanderbilt about 100 years ago.

  3. I’ve learned a lot from Arthur, myself. We’re faithful watchers.

    Never knew who Frank Gehry was until the show about the treehouse and Barcelona!

  4. BrenOaks

    I confess I now own several Jack Johnson albums thanks to Curious George. It’s amazing what we can learn from our kids.

  5. Arthur came on at our house just after I read this post earlier today. I was cracking up!

Leave a Reply

