Daily Archives: July 28, 2008

Friend

I’ve tried to become more intentional with the word “friend”. I have noticed that in conversations, I will often refer to someone as “a friend” though they may actually be better defined as an acquaintance. Sometimes, they’re not even an acquaintance but just someone whose blog I read. I think that devalues the word “friend” when I use it so casually.

My real friends are those people I know I can rely on. Some of those I simply rely on to read these words and occasionally leave a comment. Others I rely on for companionship and conversations. There are those I rely on for a good laugh, a sincere compliment, encouragement, or even a prayer. Still others are relied on to help in tough situations. Many overlap in all those areas.

I’m blessed by friendships of all kinds. For that, I am truly grateful.

3 Comments

Filed under by Malia, friends, musings