A Little Bah Humbug

blissfulchicks_cropA year ago yesterday I wrote this post about feeling Christmas-y in November. And I was serious about being a Christmas “purist” in that I don’t, normally, want to acknowledge anything Christmas until after Thanksgiving. But here we are again, one year later, and what is going on? Christmas prep.

I’m having to think of Christmas much earlier than I care to for a number of reasons. On DB’s side of the family, we draw names for gift giving. Three of the four names that we drew this year are members of the part of the family that live in Illinois. They will be joining us for Thanksgiving this year, not Christmas, so we are going to be ready to present them with their gifts when they’re here in a couple of weeks.

My mother has been bugging me requesting ideas for gift shopping from me for weeks now. (Hi, Mom!) She’s one of those people who shops early and is all prepared and stuff. I’ve been uncooperative and now she tells me she’s found something for me even though I didn’t give her any ideas. Hmmm…I’m little scared now. (Kidding!)

I got an idea for our Christmas cards this year from something I saw at church a few weeks ago. Shocking, I know! Especially since traditionally, my fellowship of faith does not like to associate Christmas with, well Christ. Go figure. The congregation we attend is little more “progressive” though. But I digress…ever since then I’ve been a wee bit obsessed with how to pull off the idea. But if I am going to pull it off, I can’t procrastinate (who me?) and wait until the week before Christmas to get it done. So, once more, Christmas stuff on my mind.

But the icing on the Christmas cookie would have to be that yesterday, in my house, someone was playing Christmas music. Christmas music. Before Thanksgiving. That, my friends, is a big No-No! Of course, the excuse was that it’s practice for someone’s upcoming Christmas concert. But still it was playing and yes, I’ll admit it. I even liked it. Just a little. For now.

Just don’t expect me to sing along. Hum…maybe.

6 Comments

Filed under by Malia, musings

6 responses to “A Little Bah Humbug

  1. I’m a purist too, Christmas can NOT start until the day after Thanksgiving. But the other day I had two of my children and two of Jonathan & Tanya’s children in my car when Abby asked if I had any kid music. So I got out my CDs and listed off what I had, and one of them was a Christmas CD and everyone wanted to listen to it! I was a little hesitant (WHY did I even mention it?!) but I went ahead & put it in. And … I think I enjoyed it a little too. I told myself not to, but I couldn’t help it.

  2. diana

    Christmas gifts are the only thing Christmas I do prior to maybe 2 weeks before Christmas. I really don’t enjoy Christmas shopping at the last minute. And I truly DO enjoy Christmas shopping early. I also do not enjoy having the tree/decorations in the house any earlier than about 2 weeks prior and then it all must return to the closet within one week post Christmas.
    Actually, there is logistical planning being done (inside my head) for how things will all play out the week of Christmas. So, I guess that technically counts toward “doing” Christmas prior to Thanksgiving.
    I’m no longer bugging you about gift suggestions for Christmas (as you explained), but, if you want any say in what you receive for your birthday, then don’t abandon the gift suggestion request just yet. Of course, I can do that on my own, too. I’m pretty sure I can find something that will please. :-)
    mom

  3. We have to decide if we’re going to buy plane tickets if we’re going to go home for Christmas, so now all *I* can think about is Christmas, too.

    Poor Thanksgiving. :-(

  4. Pingback: Happy Christmas? Nope, Not Yet « A Natural Deficiency Of Moral Fiber

  5. Pingback: Smitten: from the rules were meant to be broken files « live. laugh. love.

  6. Pingback: Counting Stars « A Natural Deficiency Of Moral Fiber

Leave a Reply

