Looking Ahead

picture-033_cropSo now that it’s 2009…it’s time to look forward. Enough reflecting already! (Well, maybe a little more, tomorrow.)

Again, no resolutions. Just goals. A couple of areas to work on and improve upon. I’m going to keep all the ones from last year, even the “get outside more” one! I’m adding:

1. Be more “green” – Recycling has become second nature for us. We’re replacing light bulbs with CFLs as they burn out. I’ve been buying “green” cleaning products as my others run out. But there’s much more that we can do. I want to explore other ways of conserving energy and resources.

2. Be more frugal – It’s no secret our economy is struggling and even though our family has never been overly extravagant in spending, we’ve also not paid as much attention to spending as we could. I’d really like to challenge myself to pare down the budget, live on less. Save more, give more.

In many ways, these two aspirations go hand in hand. A lot of what is frugal is also green and vice versa. I’ve been inspired by a good friend to change my laundry ways including making my own laundry detergent & fabric softener! Maybe from time to time I’ll share with you what steps we’ve taken, things we’ve tried, what’s worked and what’s not worked at all!

One more thing that I’m looking forward to this year is a very special wedding! My “little” sister is getting married! We are thrilled and happy to welcome her fiancé into our family.

I’m excited about 2009. It already feels like it’s going to be a great year!

3 Comments

Filed under by Malia, life as a domestic goddess, musings, tree huggerness

3 responses to “Looking Ahead

  1. Big congrats to Emily!! 🙂

    p.s. I am with you on being more frugal. I’m actually trying to come up with, and stick to, a grocery budget especially.

  2. I want to hear more about the homemade laundry soap! We have already switched to mostly green cleaners (for healthy reasons).

  3. Just stopping by to say that although I do not comment very much these days, I do read you in my feed reader and still enjoy your blog *very*much!! Thank you for a wonderful year.

    Happy New Year, Malia! 🙂

Leave a Reply

