Not Ready

glamour MaliaWhen your babies are babies there are times when they seemingly change right before your eyes. I think I remember reading, when my firstborn was an infant, that babies grow at a faster rate that first year of life than at any other time. It’s simultaneously thrilling and disheartening to see them change so fast. But the growth does eventually slow down and weeks even months can go by without any discernable differences in their growth or appearance.

Enter pre-puberty.

At the beginning of the summer, I noticed some physical changes beginning in JBelle. To protect her privacy and save her from any potential embarrassment, I’m not going to describe the changes. Suffice it to say, my baby girl is growing up. And since the day that I first noticed these changes it’s as if they become more pronounced and obvious with each passing day. Just like the days of her babyhood, she’s changing right before my eyes.

And I’m not ready for it!

I thought I had more time. I didn’t expect to be dealing with these changes at this stage of her life. Thankfully, for the most part, the changes are pretty much just physical. We do deal with some attitude and surliness but for the most part, she’s still a very sweet child. She loves playing with her American Girl doll. She still likes to wear dresses. She even still digs in the dirt on occasion.

For all the child that’s in her though, the innocence of youth is hovering precariously close to ruin. I’m even less ready for that inevitability.

picture-124

6 Comments

Filed under by Malia, JBelle, parenting

6 responses to “Not Ready

  1. Although I’m not a parent, I see this happening to the nieces.
    I’m not ready either.
    Beautiful post.

  2. Thank you for your comment on my BD post. I love comments. 😉 Let me know how the dryer sheet thing works out; I am on my last few Costco purchased gallon of them and once they are gone I am greening my drying….
    Good luck with these changes. My daughter is still young but these are the kind of things that I think about (and dread) every time I see her.

  3. Jacinda

    Having a daughter near JB’s age, I hear ya!

  4. Jacinda

    Well, I guess I meant to refer to her as “JBelle,” not “JB.” sorry!

  5. I am so not ready for that. My oldest is 9 so I have some time left, but not much!

  6. If it’s any help, I am loving the teenage years! I think ages 9 to 11 were much worse (in both my oldest) than ages 12 to 15 have been. It’s that transition period where they test the waters, and I think a lot is determined in that time period – what kind of parent you will be to the teen, what kind of teen they will be, if you will keep the closeness or if the ‘gap’ will begin – etc. I am thoroughly enjoying Britt at 15… love it! And Justice at 13? He completely cracks me up all the time – just so witty and becoming quite the young man. It’s awesome. 🙂 (and now I have 4 more to get through that stage… one is right in the middle of it… but I’ve learned and his 9-11 stage is going smoother than the first ones) 🙂

Leave a Reply

