Koko Taylor – R.I.P.

koko taylorJust about thirteen months ago, I wrote a post about how the children’s show, Arthur, on PBS introduced me to Koko Taylor. I didn’t even realize she was still performing and then I saw her on The Kennedy Center Honors Morgan Freeman in February. She performed, I’m a Woman, and she could still rock the house!  Yesterday, the “Queen of the Blues”, Koko Taylor passed on to that great blues bar in the sky.

She was 80 years old. She’ll be missed. But her legend will live on. Here’s Koko performing my personal favorite, Wang Dang Doodle in 1967.

Now  you can Wang Dang Doodle for eterninty, dear woman.

Leave a comment

Filed under by Malia, musings

Leave a Reply

