Awww, shucks!

oc-christmas-025_crop2.jpgSo I had this little spa party last night at my place. Wine, chocolate, foot soaks, warm neck wraps, more wine, more chocolate, a bunch of products that smell divine and feel good, a little more wine, some cheese (really, really yummy cheese), a little more chocolate….you get the picture. It was indulgent and decadent which is exactly what I was supposed to be. My friend, Aunt B. was there, and she wrote a very nice and complimentary post about the evening. If I do say so myself, the chocolate cake is quite yummy!

And as I commented on her post, for me the indulgence and decadence of the evening wasn’t the spa treatments and the luscious food, it was the time spent with friends. For me, the absolute hardest thing about being a stay-at-home mom is the lack adult conversation and interactions. I try and seize every opportunity that comes my way to “pamper” myself with conversations that don’t include the phrases, “why do you smell like pee?” and “have you brushed your teeth yet?” and “stop pulling the dog’s tail!” and “no, you may not clean the bathroom with the toilet paper”. And to eat at restaurants that don’t serve plastic toys with their meals. And to not care about whether or not the kids like hummus or olive tapenade because I do and it’s my party and that’s what I’m serving!

Many thanks to my blogging friends (Aunt B., Shauna, Kathy T., Jag, Lesley, Jamie & Mari) and non-blogging friends who attended last night’s soirée. I had a fun, relaxing time and I hope you did, too!

15 Comments

Filed under by Malia, I blog they blog wouldn't you like to be a blogger too?, life as a domestic goddess

15 responses to “Awww, shucks!

  1. Ooh, I hate that I couldn’t make it! If you do this again, I’m really going to try to get there.

  2. Pingback: Music City Bloggers » Blog Archive » Getting Together

  3. Thanks again for being such a great hostess–I had a wonderful time!

  4. Shoot, wish I could have been there, sounds like ya’ll had a blast. Cheese, chocolate cake, warm neck thingy’s sounds like my kinda party! Glad u got some adult conversation Malia, it is what keeps us sane (or at least half sane!)

  5. I had fun! Thank you for having us over. I can’t wait for my MARGARITA SCRUB to come in!

  6. I’m sorry I had to miss it!

    Sounds like a fabulous time!

  7. The chocolate was sooooo good. The friendship was better!

  8. Thank you much for the invite. It was a wonderful treat to get pampered and not have to wait on little ones for a change!

    p.s. That chocolate cake you made? I could have stolen it and brought it home with me. 😉

  9. That sounds like a FAB night… wish I could have come!! 🙂

  10. Pingback: Blonde Mom Blog » Don't Ever Come Between a Girl and Her Lipgloss

  11. Thanks so much for the invite. Hate I wasn’t able to get there but glad you all had a great time!

  12. BrenOaks

    This sounds right up my alley. If I lived closer I would have crashed the party (had I not been invited) 🙂 Glad you had a great evening. Girlfriends, chocolate, wine….these are a few of my favorite things….

  13. Pingback: big orange country « I’m about to be brilliant

  14. Sheryl

    Ok, there’s one reason for me to move to Nashville (besides being closer to you)… so I can attend those little get-togethers. Sounds like a fun time!

  15. Pingback: *thankful thursday, 1.24.07* at *o, pish posh!*

Leave a comment