Daily Archives: May 29, 2008

Stir Crazy

Thanks for all the well wishes and concerns over my accident. I’m recovering, though a little more slowly than I’d like! I was feeling pretty good yesterday and decided to get some things done around here but ended up overexerting myself so DB benched me today! I can’t drive yet because I still have limited mobility in my neck. Not being able to drive has thwarted the plans that I had for this week and has kept us homebound except for going to dinner a couple of times and church last night.

We’re all going a little stir crazy. The kids are bored and there’s not much DB and I can do about it. I’m trying to stay still and rest as much as possible and DB has to work. He did take some time earlier today to do some planting in our garden and the kids “helped” with that. And he and I helped JBelle set-up and use the Easy Bake oven she got for her birthday. She made a couple of cakes for her and the GMan. They both enjoyed mixing up the cake batter and putting the pans into the oven. Then they watched a movie this afternoon while I napped.

I was feeling discouraged earlier about my recovery progress but DB reminded me that a) I’m alive and b) I’m not paralyzed! That certainly put things into perspective! Even though I know I need to recover and take care of myself, I can’t help but feel like I’m being lazy and not contributing to the family. It’s irrational and completely false but it’s how my brain works.

6 Comments

Filed under by Malia, kids & family, life as a domestic goddess