not again!! – updates

Malia pictureUpdate #10 – One more, I just got an e-mail from Tanya and they are fine and all at home.

Update #9 – I just saw on FoxNews.com that the death toll is 32. I don’t think I can keep these updates up. I’m crying so much I can barely see the screen. I think I need to take a break from the computer.

Update #8 – When I was driving around Blacksburg this past weekend, I noticed that the lamp posts on Main Street, had banners that said, “A Special Place – Blacksburg”. That’s so true. Blacksburg is a special place. It’s a small town that has retained it’s small town nature even though there are 26,000 students milling about! Even though this incident happened on campus, it will affect the entire community. Virginia Tech is an amazing university. I loved being a student there. It’s so diverse and so beautiful and there is so much opportunity and potential held on that campus. I never felt unsafe on campus. I remember my freshman year we had a “peeping tom” incident in my residence hall, they put locks on the bathroom doors on the girls’ floors (it was a co-ed dorm, guys/girls every other floor) and gave us keys. It was annoying and our privacy had been violated but I never felt scared or unsafe.

I just can’t imagine what the school is going to do. Finals are slated to begin in a few weeks. Seniors are gearing up for graduation.

I’m very sad.

Update #7 – I just got to talk to Jennifer Brooks from the Tennessean. That was nice, to be able to talk to someone about this.

Update #6 – I’m so horrified. I’ve stopped shaking, mostly. I’ve been crying on and off. This is just so hard to comprehend. It’s so surreal to me since I was just there this past weekend for a reunion. I just can’t imagine what the students and their parents and families are going through right now. I drove by West AJ – when I was a student, I lived in Lee which is just two buildings down the street. I drove around the drillfield, by Norris Hall. It was such a great weekend and now there is such sorrow.

UPDATE #522 DEAD!!!!!! And several, 17-21 injured. This is crazy. Y’all, I’m shaking as I type this. I can’t believe this has happened. I was just there! What is happening?????

Update #4: Lisa’s blog
Hoping to hear from Tanya soon!!!

Update #3:

WDBJ7 – Roanoke – A shooter has been caught, they are still reporting one fatality and several injuries. There is a suspected second shooter.

So far I’ve found one blog from someone currently on campus: Southern Girl – sounds like she’s grad student.

Update #2: There’s been a second shooting, this time at an academic building. Still reporting only one fatality, but multiple injuries.

Update #1: Here’s another link.

original post:
Last August, a felon was on the loose in Blacksburg.

This morning there’s been a shooting on the Virginia Tech campus!!

I was just there this past weekend. This is scary stuff. I have family and friends in the area. Please be praying!
*This post originally appeared on my old blog. I figured that David and I would be talking more about Virginia Tech and the tragic events that occurred there, so I’ve brought the post from the old blog over here for the sake of continuity.

2 Comments

Filed under by Malia, Virginia Tech

2 responses to “not again!! – updates

  1. Malia

    These are the comments that were left on this post at the old place:

    April 16, 2007 12:09 PM, Anonymous said…
    Hi, Malia. I’m a reporter for the Tennessean, looking for Virginia Tech alumni in town. If you’re feeling up to talking, please get in touch with me at (615) 259-8892 or jabrooks@tennessean.com. That goes for any other VT folks reading this too.

    Thanks for your time,

    Jennifer Brooks

    April 16, 2007 12:13 PM, Root’s Ramblings said…
    I just heard about the news! I pray that everyone else is ok. Let me know if you hear from Tanya! How scary to have been in that situation. I can’t even imagine something like that happening on our campus! Please keep up informed!

    April 16, 2007 12:33 PM, Rob Robinson said…
    Malia, thanks for sharing your thoughts. I have a distant aunt and uncle in Blacksburg and have visited a couple of times, but I don’t have a direct VT connection. I feel numb just knowing about this, and I’m sure it must be that much more surreal for you on the heels of a trip there.

    April 16, 2007 1:51 PM, Anonymous said…
    Hi, I don’t know you, but I’m another VT alumni here in Nashville.. I’m so sad and sickened by this story… it almost instantly changed my memories of that perfect little college town that I loved. It’s a tragedy. There are so many people who need to be covered by prayer now.

    Angela

    April 16, 2007 1:51 PM, Root’s Ramblings said…
    Take some time to get yourself together and pray. 🙂 I’m sure it will help. I can only imagine how emotional this is for you, especially since you were just there over the weekend.
    Thank God that Tanya and the family are fine!!
    I’ll continue to be praying for those effected…. including you my sweet friend!! 🙂

    April 16, 2007 2:45 PM, lisa leichner said…
    Me too, Malia, crying my eyes out. This is really hard to deal with. Thanks all for your prayers.

    April 16, 2007 3:14 PM, Anonymous said…
    Hi Malia,
    I am a reporter with WTVF, Newschannel5, hoping to speak with someone with a connection to Virginia Tech about this tragic shooting. I would appreciate it if you could please call me at 615-248-5251. I look forward to hearing from you.
    Thank you,
    Amy Rao

    April 16, 2007 3:49 PM, Ginger said…
    Malia,
    Just want you to know that you, your friends, fellow alums, the families, etc., are all in my thoughts &; prayers right now.
    With love,
    Ginger

    April 16, 2007 3:53 PM, Brennan said…
    Malia, hang in there. It’s been a tough day for Hokies all around. I spoke with my old minister from Richmond whose son is a freshman at VT. He thankfully was working in his architecture studio when everything happened. I also got in touch with one of my old professors to make sure things were okay with him as well. As a parent, I can’t imagine what parents of VT kids are going through right now. I’ve been gone for 15 years and my mom shot me an email today saying she was thankful I was a graduate and not there any longer. I’m saddened that people make evil choices that hurt others. I am relieved to hear you’re back from Blacksburg. Thank you for being brave enough to share with the rest of us what you have today.

    April 16, 2007 4:26 PM, john h said…
    You are so much on my mind today, Malia. It sounds like your friends are safe. I know this must be such an unbelievable time for you, even if you hadn’t just visited.

    your friend – hutch

    April 16, 2007 5:43 PM, MAK said…
    Thanks for posting that you had heard from Tanya. I have been praying for them and the family in Fairfax ever since I heard about this. I am so sorry that you all have gone through this but am am thankful that your family (my friends) are all safe.

    April 16, 2007 6:20 PM, erinlo said…
    Oh Malia! I’m heartbroken for you. Please know that you are in my prayers.

    April 16, 2007 8:12 PM, jettybetty said…
    You are the only VT person I really know–so I came here to check out how you were doing. I just can’t imagine this is so horrible.

  2. Pingback: Monday Morning « live. laugh. love.

Leave a comment