Daily Archives: April 27, 2007

Vick is nothing but a Dog?

David pictureMichael Vick is in the news again today because of something someone else did in a house he happens to own in Virginia.  Vick’s cousin, Davon Boddie, lives in the house and was sufficiently suspected of involvement in drug activity that police executed a search warrant on the house (and later arrested him elsewhere) only to find dogs that were “injured and emaciated” and dog fighting-related items.

However, the news story leads the reader to presume that Michael Vick is somehow directly linked to the original drug investigation by lack of reference in the first paragraph (I confirmed this bias by asking Malia about the story…all she knew was something about drugs and injured dogs found at Vick’s house) and then quotes PETA members as saying that Arthur Blank, the owner of the Atlanta Falcons, should fire Michael Vick if the dogs are found to have been involved in fighting and suspend him while there is an investigation.  Did you notice anything there?  NOT that Vick himself is involved in dog fighting, simply that the dogs found in a house he happens to own were allegedly used in fighting.  Apparently every landlord is now liable for any tenant activity.  The article then finished by recounting every misstep that Vick has made over the last few years.

In a follow-up article, Vick states that family members have taken advantage of his generosity, he nevers visits the property, and was upset at the incident.  Again, PETA insists that he had to know about it and is responsible, insinuating that to feed the animals (not that they noticed that the dogs were EMACIATED) would take a large sum of money (money only an NFL QB could supply, wink wink).  Not only that, but now sports columnists are saying that Vick should take better care of his affairs.  For goodness sake he was fishing in a private pond (the HORROR!!) without permission and he didn’t show up for a flight to take him to participate in a congressional function where he would be HONORED for his work with kids (what a sicko to miss that, he couldn’t really care about kids to miss hanging out with those turkeys).  Not to mention he flipped the bird at the fans in New Orleans last season AND had a water bottle seized by “officials” at the Miami airport that reportedly smelled of marijuana, not that there was any evidence except some TSA agent’s nose.

What is wrong with this picture?  This is character assassination for something he is not even directly linked to on top of innuendo evidence that he is just a person of questionable character.  SERIOUSLY!?!  How horrible to not be honored for working with kids (some might call that humility) or for FISHING!! (some might call that boring).  If he is that lacking in character he must have known something about what his cousin was doing three states away?   And must have no moral fiber whatsoever for having a water bottle with a “secret compartment”(ooooooo, that could only be used for drugs).  And he gave some girl VD.  And he has cornrows.  And he’s related to his brother.  And he left college early because he is greedy.  And occasionally he wears baggy pants.  And…

What ever happened to calmly weighing the evidence and determining a verdict after sober deliberations?  “Why reasonable people go stark raving mad when anything involving a Negro comes up, is something I don’t pretend to understand.”–Atticus Finch 

ETA 7/19/07:  My stand has not changed even with an indictment against Vick.  While the feds have a 95% conviction rate once they indict, it is still my opinion that Vick has been dragged through the mud unnecessarily.  While my gut tells me that I will have to edit this again or write a new one referring to this post at some point talking about how Vick is truly as dirty as everyone thought he was all along, excuse me while I don’t jump all the way there quite yet.

2 Comments

Filed under by DB, Rant

He Said/She Said: Innocence

Welcome to the first installment of “He Said/She Said”. This is where we write independently about a subject and then post the results here.

David pictureI try to keep in mind at all times that the goal of parenting is the successful launch of a complete, whole, well-adjusted, self-sufficient adult ready to take on the world as much as any young adult can.  Admittedly, the maturation process continues long after the “adult” has left home.  But, in general, they should at least be able to think for themselves and cope with situations in an adult manner once they are no longer in “the nest”.  I understand this is a process from the parents’* perspective of slowly letting go: allowing more rope, allowing more freedom, widening that safety net until that “one day” all protection is gone.

In an ideal world, there is a period of innocence that allows a child to just be a child: without worry, without the awful knowledge of reality, without the pain of experience.  The 1997 movie “Life is Beautiful” is a great example of this ideal of innocence.  If you will recall (and if you can’t recall or never saw the movie, it is worth the rental), the father constantly played a game with his son to mask the reality of living in a German concentration camp.  Essentially, the father was protecting the innocence of his young son by witholding information, even about the horrible reality that surrounded them and that the child witnessed with his own eyes.

Having a nearly 7-year old, we are approaching one of those transition times in rearing children.  In very real ways, our daughter is slowly losing that innocence that defines young childhood.  She is exposed to information from which we can not protect her and some that we are allowing her to experience based on her age and maturity level.  It is interesting to observe other families and the levels to which they expose or allow their children to have access to information/experiences.  For example, we don’t have cable, we don’t allow JBelle to watch the news (not that she is terribly interested) or most primetime television, or to get on the internet.  Some might call us overprotective.  I prefer to look at it as protecting something precious that one can never get back. 

If the goal in raising her is to form a well-rounded adult, naivete (at launch) is a deficiency rather than a virtue.  I understand that and will do everything in my power to help her be a well-informed and experienced young adult.  However, at 6, almost 7, she is still worthy of having the luxury of innocence.  The realities of life will be there when she is ready, but for now, she is still a little girl and I am going to do everything I can to make sure she gets the chance to be just that.  

*I understand that a child does not always have two parents and that innocence for millions, if not billions of people, must seem like a fantasty.  However, as I write in this blog, it will always be from my experience/idealism.  Therefore, if you choose to get offended by the words I use or the manner in which I write, good.  My hope is that you would rather enjoy my different (or tired, old, re-treaded, ignorant) opinions.  Truly, without hope or idealism, what’s the point?

Malia pictureOn Monday, April 16th, JBelle stayed after school with her teacher and a few other classmates for a special “playdate” of sorts. It turned out to be very good timing for us as our world forever changed earlier that day with the tragic events at Virginia Tech. At the time JBelle would have normally been returning home, I had a tear streaked face and had just agreed to being interviewed for NewsChannel5. After the interview (sans tear streaked face – I had time to clean-up before they arrived), we headed to JBelle’s school to get her and then went to dinner. We never told her what happened that day and we didn’t plan on telling her either.

How do explain something like that to a first grader? Especially when you have trouble comprehending the evil and horror of it all yourself. I’m a big proponent of letting kids just be kids. Children don’t need to be weighed down with heavy emotional baggage or with adult responsibilities. Innocence is so fleeting and so easily lost.

The attempted assassination of President Reagan happened when I was in first grade. I don’t remember how I found out about it, I just remember knowing that it happened. I was reassured that he would be okay and that the man who had shot him had been arrested. At seven years old, that was all I needed to know.

A couple of days after the tragedy at Virginia Tech, JBelle came home from school and asked me if I knew why the flags were being flown at half staff. I told her that I did and I asked her if she knew why. She told me because some college students in Virginia got shot and died. My heart broke a little when she said that, I’d hoped to shield her from it all. But looking back on it, she’s close to the same age that I was when Reagan was shot. While the two events are quite different on a scale of violence and loss, she had learned the basic facts and that was all she needed to know. A couple days after that she asked me if college students at Virginia Tech were still being shot. Again, my heart broke a little hearing her ask that question. I assured her that no, no one was being shot at anymore.

I imagine the questions will continue to come as her brain, little by little, processes the information. I know I can’t protect her from everything but I’ll try my best to answer the questions as honestly as I can without sacrificing the innocence of her young mind.

4 Comments

Filed under by DB, by Malia, He Said/She Said, kids & family

Something else

Malia pictureI’m tired of the “Lockdown” post being the one on top. I’m also a little tired of seeing my own face here but there’s a very good reason for that. David was out of town all week, just got back last night after the kids were in bed. I barely gave him time to check his e-mail, let alone write a blog post 😉 This morning as I helped JBelle get ready for school and as David got ready to go into the office, it just felt so right with all four of being together again. The kids are definitely happier now that he’s home again. I guess I would be too if I had a stark raving lunatic for a mother. David is definitely the calm for the storm of Hurricane Malia.

Did I have a rough week? What makes you ask that?

In retrospect, the week wasn’t all that bad. But I’m still very, very, very glad to have my husband home again.

And I’m really excited about tonight’s Friday pizza & movie night. I found the original Freaky Friday on DVD at the library a couple of days ago! (I’ve seen the remake but I don’t think it’s entirely appropriate for JBelle to see.) Plus, I’m making homemade pizza and maybe even a couple calzones for me and David.

TGIF!!

2 Comments

Filed under by Malia, kids & family